Summon search box
Search journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC documents, and other online resources using Summon on the Libraries homepage, http://library.unco.edu/.
Results are listed by relevance so make use of Publication Date limiter, along with Content type and Subject limiters to reduce number of results. Note the 'Cited by' feature for journal articles included in Web of Science Social Sciences Citation Index to lead you to more recent articles.
Library's home page
From UNC Libraries home page, http://library.unco.edu/, you can also access
- Services in left column to request items not available through UNC Libraries or Prospector; on-campus students use 'Borrow from other libraries/ILL' while off campus students use 'For Distance/Off Campus students'
- Journal articles on a particular topic through education indexes on the Search All tab, Databases by Subject
- Electronic reference sources, dictionaries and encyclopedias, through the Search All tab, Starting Places
- Links to full text for a specific journal through the Journals tab
- E-book content through the online catalog from the Books & More tab
- Help using specific resources, through Research Guides, found on Search All and Books & More tabs
- Electronic reserve material from the Reserves tab
- Ask a librarian via e-mail, chat or phone through the link in the right column
Selected Web resources
- Accomodations For English Language Learner Students: Effect of Linguistic Modification on Math Test Item Sets
- Center for Applied Linguistics: English Language Learners
- Center on Instruction: English Language Learners
- Colorin Colorado Research and Reports
- CREATE Briefs
- everythingESL
- Linguist List Language Learning: ESL and EFL
- National Taskforce on Early Childhood Education for Hispanics
- NCELA Resource Collection Database
- Reading, Mathematics and Science Achievement of Language-Minority Students in Grade 8
- Succeeding with English Language Learners
- What are We Doing to Middle School English Learners?
- What Works Clearinghouse - English Language Learners
- WIDA's English Language Proficiency Standards
Variety of terms used
Bilingual education
Linguistic minorities
Linguistically diverse
English as a second language
Limited English proficient
English language learner
English learner
Second language acquisition
Spanish speaking students
English language – study and teaching – foreign speakers
Do not use abbreviations: EL, ELL, ESL,TESL,TESOL, EFL, ELT, LEP
Searching for books, media, and government publications
E-Books found through Prospector are only available if UNC Libraries has paid access for the titles.
- Prospector
Unified catalog of 36 academic, public, and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming - WorldCat
Catalog of items held in libraries worldwide; found on the Article Finder list
Searching for dissertations and theses
Use the Search All tab and Databases by Subject to locate Resource Types: Dissertations and Theses
- Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations
Index to restricted and unrestricted electronic theses and dissertations (ETD) - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Full Text
Contains citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997, including those from UNC.
Electronic Reference Sources
Print sources
The following sources can be found in the 1st floor Michener Library Reference Collection:
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education - LC 3707.E523 2008
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics - P 29.E48 2006
Encyclopedia of Language and Education: Second and Foreign Language Education - P 40.8.E53 2008 v. 4
Encyclopedia of Language and Education: Bilingual Education - P 40.8.E53 2008 v. 5
The following sources can be found in Michener Stacks:
Bilingual Education: A Reference Handbook - LC 3731.F45 2002
Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education - LC 3707.E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Language and Education - P 40.8.E53 1997 v. 1-6
Handbook of Bilingualism - P 115.H365 2004
Handbook of Bilingualism: Psycholinguistic Approaches - P 115.4.H36 2005
Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching & Learning - P 118.2.H359 2005
International Handbook of English Language Teaching - PE 1128.A2 I585 2007 v. 1-2
Book arrangement in Michener Stacks
The following are areas in Michener Stacks to find books on the topics as indicated:
LC 2667-2698 Education of Latin Americans/Hispanic Americans
LC 3701-3740 Bilingual education/education of immigrants and linguistic minorities
P 115 Bilingualism/multilingualism
PE 1128.A2 Teaching English language learners/ESL
PE 1129.S8 English language learning for Spanish speakers
PE 1130 English language learning for other language speakers
Librarian |
Contact Info Michener Library Main floor office 108 University of Northern Colorado Greeley CO 80639 Phone: (970) 351-1531 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Education |
Help with APA
Video/DVD resources
In addition to the VHS and DVD collections on second floor of Michener Library, streaming video is available through the database Education in Video. Additional individual titles can be found in a library catalog search on the Books and More tab, limiting the results of your topic search to Format: Streaming Media.
Sources about Tests
Check the Search All tab and Databases by Subject area for RESOURCE TYPES: Tests for more resources
- Center for Equity and Excellence in Education Test Database Archive
This archived database contains abstracts and descriptions of 200 commonly used tests with English Language Learners. - Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Produced by the Buros Institute, this resource provides descriptions and reviews of commercially produced tests
Statistical sources
Additional Research Guides
Try the following research guides for help with related topics



Loading...
