Summon search box
Search journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC documents, and other online resources using Summon on the Libraries homepage, http://library.unco.edu/.
Results are listed by relevance so make use of Publication Date limiter, along with Content type and Subject limiters to reduce number of results. Note the 'Cited by' feature for journal articles included in Web of Science Social Sciences Citation Index to lead you to more recent articles.
Research web sites
- American Council on Education (ACE): Higher Education Topics
- Center for Studies in Higher Education (CSHE)
- CollegeBoard College Completion Agenda
- Community College Research Center
- Cornell Higher Education Research Institute (CHERI)
- Education Trust Publications about Higher Education
- Internet Resources for Higher Education Outcomes Assessment
- National Center for Postsecondary Research papers
- One Degree of Separation: How Young Americans who Don't Finish College See Their Chances for Success
- Roadmap for Ensuring America's Future by Increasing Latino College Completion
- Unlocking the Gate: What We Know about Improving Developmental Education
- WICHE Policy Publications Clearinghouse
- With Their Whole Lives Ahead of Them
Professional Resources
Legal research
Click on the appropriate letter on the Articles & More tab for:
- LexisNexis Academic Click on U.S. Legal and select Federal & State Cases or Law Reviews and click on Edit in Power Search for advanced search options.
Sources about Tests
Check on the Articles & More tab in the 'Resources by Subject' area under Resource types: Tests for more resources.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Produced by the Buros Institute, this resource provides descriptions and reviews of commercially produced tests
Searching for books, media, and government publications
Use the Books & More tab to search UNC Libraries' catalog or select another library catalog to search. The Classic Catalog 'Advanced Search' permits combining of terms with Boolean operators and limits by location, material type, language, year and publisher.
- The Source Library Catalog Index to UNC Libraries Michener and Music library holdings; suggested subject headings - college students; education, higher; universities and colleges; student affairs administrators; community colleges
- Prospector Unified catalog of about 40 academic, public, and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming
- WorldCat Catalog of items held in libraries worldwide; found through the Articles & More tab
Searching for dissertations and theses
Resources found on the UNC Libraries' Articles & More tab in the 'Resources by Subject' area under Resource Types: Dissertations and Theses
- Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations Index to restricted and unrestricted electronic theses and dissertations (ETD)
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Full TextContains citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997, including those from UNC.
Handbook
Electronic reference sources:
- Cabell's Directories: Psychology & AdministrationContains manuscript guidelines for specific journals along with their review practice and acceptance rates.
- College Navigator This site was named by Money Magazine as one of the magazine's top 28 websites and one of the best places to start a college search.
- Copyright Assistance for Graduate StudentsProvides overview of issues to consider regarding publication of your dissertation.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library: College Blue BookAmong the reference sources is this definitive guide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada, their programs, degrees, and financial aid sources.
- State Postsecondary Education Structures HandbookEducation Commission of the States handbooks for the years 1976, 1981, 1983, 1986, 1988, 1991, 1994, and 1997. Also included is the survey, Higher Education in the States, which covers the basic legal structures and responsiblities of the governing boards from 1982-3.
Selected print reference sources:
The following books can be located in the Michener Library Reference Collection located on the main floor:
Higher Education in the United States: An Encyclopedia - LA 225 .H54 2002
Historically Black Colleges and Universities: An Encyclopedia - LC2781 B755 2011
Women in Higher Education: An Encyclopedia - LC 1569 .W66 2002
Annual Status Report, Minorities in Higher Education - LC 3727 .A47a ed. 24 2010
Librarian |
Contact Info Michener Library Main floor office 108 University of Northern Colorado Greeley CO 80639 Phone: (970) 351-1531 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Education |
Statistical sources
Check the Articles & More tab in the 'Resources by Subject' area under Resource Types: Statistics for more links.
- Colorado Department of Higher Education Data Warehouse Includes reports on enrollment, degrees awarded & offered, financial aid, remedial education, budget & finance, and capital assets
- Education Trust's College Results OnlineGraduation rates of particular colleges, for a group of colleges, or by characteristics of students or the institution provided.
- NCES Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS)Provided by institutions of postsecondary education, data topics include enrollment, program completion, graduation rates, faculty, staff, finances, institutional prices, and student financial aid.
- WICHE Policy and Data ResourcesWestern Interstate Commission on Higher Education data on access to, success in, and financing of higher education; projections of high school graduates; and other policy and data.
- Trends in College Spending 1999-2009This report attempts to put financial information into context, showing how money is spent and how that
spending relates to institutional performance, concentrating on the 1999 to 2009 academic years.



Loading...
