This is the "Home" page of the "JSTOR Project Page" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

JSTOR Project Page  

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2011 URL: http://libguides.unco.edu/JSTORproject Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About JSTOR

JSTORJSTOR is an online database of fully-searchable, printable, and downloadable digitized back issues of journals in a wide range of disciplines. In order to provide a secure backup for the database, JSTOR has reached agreements with Harvard and the Center for Research Libraries  to create secure archives of print copies of the journals that are available online.

 

The JSTOR De-Duplication Project

The University Libraries proposes to withdraw (i.e., donate to other libraries or discard) print volumes of journals that are duplicated in the JSTOR online journal archive unless they meet one of the retention criteria below.

For the project to successfully address faculty needs, it is important for faculty campus-wide to be engaged in the process.  We welcome input from faculty on particular titles they would like to see retained and other feedback about the project.  To find out more about the project, click on the FAQ and Timeline tabs above.  The Print Duplicates List tab above provides a list of the JSTOR titles in the University Libraries collections with holdings information.

Thanks for contributing to the success of the project.

 

Retention Criteria

Criteria for determining whether to maintain on-campus print archive of journal volumes already archived electronically through JSTOR 

Bound volumes of journals may be retained if:

  • Their content and use rely to a substantial degree on the quality of illustrative materials (tables, graphs, photos, illustrations, musical notation, scripts, etc.), and this quality is not retained in the electronic version.
  • The journal is primarily used for browsing.
  • The print volumes are heavily used, as indicated through browse counts or other means.
  • The journal is published by UNC, or UNC programs or is of regional interest.

JSTOR Project Coordinator

Profile Image
Joan Lamborn
Contact Info
Michener Library 143
University of Northern Colorado
Greeley, CO 80639
Phone: 970-351-2601
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip