Middle English
African-AmericanJames MichenerLatino/a
ENG 195ENG 295 American Frontier
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "English Literature- British, American, and World" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English Literature- British, American, and World   Tags: african-american, american, canadian, english, irish, latina, latino, literary, literature, michener, post-colonial, victorian  

Library resources for literature written in English.
Last Updated: Feb 14, 2012 URL: http://libguides.unco.edu/Lit Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search for Books

 

Welcome

Desk with chained books in the Library of Cesena, Italy.
I hope that you find this guide useful in your studies and research. You will find most core resources listed on this "Home" page, more specialized tools and resources are listed under the appropriate tab. Let me know if you have suggestions, needs, or complaints by leaving a comment here or, alternately, contacting me directly.

 

Search Language and Literature Resources

Articles and Literary Criticism

Generally, the first step in researching an author or literary topic is to do a preliminary (or more thorough) search in the following databases:
 

Catalogs

When searching for books about a specific writer, start by searching one or more of the following library catalogs using the author's name as a subject heading e.g. Melville, Herman.  

When searching for books by an author, conduct an author search in the catalog. This same search is useful when looking for editors, translators, and film directors.


For Books From the UNC Libraries:

 

  • The Source catalog lists books and other materials in Michener Library and the Skinner Music Library.


For Books From Other Libraries:

 

  • Prospector is a catalog of many academic, public, and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. With a single search you can identify and borrow materials from the collections and have them delivered to your local library. (more about Prospector).
  • WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries around the world.


For Online Books:

 

  • NetLibraryA collection of over 7,000 online reference, scholarly, and professional books. To take advantage of some features, users must set up an account (at no charge) under the "Create an Account" link.
  • Google Book Search Search for books to find basic publication data and information about borrowing through a library or purchasing. In addition, you can see sample pages from certain books, and the full text of books that are out of copyright or for which Google has permission from the publisher.

Additional Resources

  • Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (Print)  
    Rating
    ABELL is the British equivalent to the MLAIB and is available in print in the Michener Library Reference Collection.
  • Humanities International Complete  
    Rating
    Indexing and links to full text content for over 1,700 journals in the humanities. Includes all data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index. Good coverage of poetry and literary magazines.
  • Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism  
    Rating
    A comprehensive historical survey of the most important figures, schools, and movements in the field of literary theory.
  • Theatre in Video  
    Rating
    Definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with film documentaries, online in hundreds of hours of streaming video. Includes the BBC Shakespeare Collection.
  • Literary Research Guide
    The Literary Research Guide is a selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British Literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.

MLA Style

MLA Handbook

  • NoodleBib  
    Rating
    Quickly creates APA and MLA style reference or source lists.
  • EndNote Web  
      
      
    Rating
    A web-based version of EndNote bibliographic management software.

Librarian

Profile Image
Gregory Heald
Contact Info
Michener Library 147
University of Northern Colorado
Greeley CO 80639
Tel:970-351-1550
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip