- Access Excellence Resource Center - from the National Health Museum
The National Health Museum will be a science-based institution with the mission of inspiring Americans to live healthier lives through access to knowledge and themed exhibits focused on the life sciences.
- Anatomy Atlases
Anatomy Atlases addresses the continuum of anatomy education and may be of use primarily to three distinct populations. It is written for and intended primarily for use by Medical Students, Residents, Fellows, or Attending Physicians studying anatomy. Other Health Care Providers studying anatomy should find it useful. Finally, Patients (including patient's family members or friends) may find it helpful.
- BloodLine Image Atlas
The first installment of this fully searchable directory features more than 800 hematological slides depicting various blood disorders and malignancies. The Image Atlas represents some twenty years of work by Jean Shafer, Assistant Professor of Medicine at the Rochester School of Medicine.
- Catalog of Clinical Images - University of California at San Diego
This site is a visual educational resource dedicated to providing pictures that are representative of common and uncommon physical exam findings. Discussions of pathophysiology, diagnostics, and treatment are not included. View the "Links" to see selected related sites. Feel free to download images for use in your own educational endeavors, though please provide appropriate credit for the author and this site.
- eSkeletons Project
The eSkeletons Project website is devoted to the study of human and primate comparative anatomy. It offers a unique set of digitized versions of skeletons in 2-D and 3-D in full color, animations, and much supplemental information. The user can navigate through the various regions of the skeleton and view all orientations of each element along with muscle and joint information.
- Dream Anatomy - from the National Library of Medicine
Drawn mainly from the collections of the National Library of Medicine, Dream Anatomy shows off the anatomical imagination in some of its most astonishing incarnations, from 1500 to the present.
- Ear, Nose & Throat - USA
This website is designed to educate doctors and patients about Otolaryngology (ear, nose & throat). Information on allergy, surgery, smoking, cancer, hearing aids, tinnitus (ear ringing), cholesteatomas, ear and larynx (voice box) photographs and videos is contained in this website.
- Gray's Anatomy / Anatomy of the Human Body by Henry Gray
The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.
- Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a digital library of multimedia teaching resources for the health sciences. HEAL provides access to tens of thousands of images, videoclips, animations, presentations, and audio files that support healthcare education.
- Historical Anatomies on the Web - from the National Library of Medicine
Historical Anatomies on the Web is a digital project designed to give Internet users access to high quality images from important anatomical atlases in the Library's collection. The project offers selected images from NLM's atlas collection, not the entire books, with an emphasis on images and not texts. Atlases and images are selected primarily for their historical and artistic significance, with priority placed upon the earliest and/or the best edition of a work in NLM's possession.
- History of Medicine from the NLM
NLM historical collections include selected digitized material relating to the history of medicine. Chosen from the manuscripts and books collections, the prints and photographs collection, historical films and videos, current and past exhibitions, and the Digital Manuscripts Program, these digitized materials cover a spectrum of centuries and cultures from medieval Islam to contemporary biomedical research.
- HON Media - from Health on the Net Foundation
HONmedia is an unique repository of over 6'800 medical images and videos, pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes. This peerless database has been created manually by HON and new image links are constantly being added from the world-wide Web.
- Images - from NIH/NCBI: A database of Images in Biomedical Literature
More than 2.5 million images and figures from medical and life sciences journals are now available through Images, a new resource for finding images in biomedical literature. The database was developed and will be maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), a division of the National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health.
- Images from the History of Medicine - from the National Library of Medicine
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Instant Anatomy
InstantAnatomy.net a website with illustrations of the Human Body to aid the learning of Human Anatomy with diagrams, podcasts and revision questions.
- Interactive Dermatology Atlas - University of Texas, San Antonio
This website is hosted by the Department of Family and Community Medicine of the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. © 2003-2009, all rights reserved.
- Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.
- MedPix Medical Images Database
MedPix® is a free online Medical Image Database, provided by the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics, Uniformed Services University, Bethesda, MD.
- NCI Visuals Online - from the National Cancer Institute
NCI Visuals Online contains images from the collections of the Office of Communications and Education and Office of Media Relations, National Cancer Institute. Contents include general biomedical and science-related images, cancer-specific scientific and patient care-related images, and portraits of directors and staff of the National Cancer Institute. Visuals Online currently provides public access to 2,068 images.
- Parasite Image Library
Parasites and parasitic diseases are listed alphabetically and are cross-referenced.
- Public Health Image Library - from the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. We welcome public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages.
- Visible Human Project - National Library of Medicine
The Visible Human Project® is an outgrowth of the NLM's 1986 Long-Range Plan. It is the creation of complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies. Acquisition of transverse CT, MR and cryosection images of representative male and female cadavers has been completed. The male was sectioned at one millimeter intervals, the female at one-third of a millimeter intervals.
- WebPath - The Internet Pathology Laboratory - University of Utah
This popular web resource includes over 1900 images along with text, tutorials, laboratory exercises, and examination items for self-assessment that demonstrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings associated with human disease conditions.