Overview of library resources and services available for graduate student research
Last Updated: Feb 10, 2014
Search journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC documents, and other online resources using Summon on the Libraries homepage, http://library.unco.edu/.
Results are listed by relevance so make use of Publication Date limiter, along with Content type and Subject limiters to reduce number of results. Note the 'Cited by' feature for journal articles included in Web of Science Citation Indexes to lead you to more recent articles.
Try these web sites for more information on research methods and a tool for planning the dissertation/thesis process.
On the Search All tab, click on Databases by Subject to locate Resource Types: Statistics for more links
- Current Index to Statistics
Index to journal articles and books on statistics.
- International Data Explorer
Data from PIRLS, PISA, and TIMSS can be analyzed through ready-made tables or by creating own tables.
- NCES: Tables and Figures
Use to search existing tables and figures from NCES
Create a map or report by combining demographic and/or business & marketing variables for a particular geographic area: census block group, census tract, Zip Code, city, county, or state.
Use Prospector for books not available at UNC Libraries. Search UNC Libraries catalog or other library catalogs from the Books & More tab. The Classic Catalog 'Advanced Search' permits combining terms with Boolean operators and limits by location, material type, language, year and publisher.
- The Source Library Catalog
Index to UNC Libraries Michener and Skinner Music library holdings. Literature Review tip: look for "Handbook of Research" on your subject field - reading, language arts, writing, etc.
Unified catalog of about 40 academic, public, and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming
Catalog of items held in libraries worldwide; found through the Articles & More tab; FirstSearch version has limited number of simultaneous users.
On the Search All tab, click on Databases by Subject to locate available resources under Resource Types: Dissertations and Theses. For help locating UNC theses and dissertations, see the Dissertations at UNC research guide.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
Online version of Dissertation Abstracts provides citations and abstracts for dissertations & theses from over 1000 colleges and universities, including UNC, with full text available 1997-
- OregonPDF in Health and Performance
Index to human movement theses and dissertations available on microfiche and in PDF for newer titles.
- PQDT Open
PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access and make their research available for free on the open Web.
The following books can be found in the Michener Library Reference Collection located on the main floor:
Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology - HA 17 .V64 2005
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics - HA 29 .S2363 2007 v. 1-3
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement - H 62 .E53 2005 v. 1-3
Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods - H 62.S34 2004 v. 1-3
The following books are available electronically through Gale Virtual Reference library:
Encyclopedia of Case Study Research
Encyclopedia of Research Design
Encyclopedia of Statistics in Behavioral Science
On the Search All tab, click on Databases by Subject to locate Resource types: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias for more online reference books.
- Cabell's Directories
Directories of scholarly journals in business, education, and psychology providing manuscript guidelines and other information about the journals.
- Psychiatry Online: DSM-5
The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders.
Main floor office 108
University of Northern Colorado
Greeley CO 80639
Phone: (970) 351-1531Send Email
On the Search All tab, click on Databases by Subject to locate Resource types: Tests for more resources
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Produced by the Buros Institute, this resource provides descriptions and reviews of commercially produced tests
Contains a growing selection of unpublished psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items (surveys and questionnaires) that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.
- Tests Research Guide
Discover how to locate actual "unpublished" tests from journal articles, books, and online