This is the "Home" page of the "Web of Science: Social Sciences Citation Index User Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Web of Science: Social Sciences Citation Index User Guide   Tags: citation_index, database_guide, index  

Guide to the use of the electronically available database.
Last Updated: Aug 29, 2012 URL: http://libguides.unco.edu/SSCI Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is a citation index?

Citation indexes allow searching of journal articles by author, subject term, and journal title, like other indexes.  The difference is in the ability to search the cited reference list or bibliographies of the journal articles.  This enables a searcher to find the articles cited by journal article author (the historical origin of the article) and the articles that are citing this particular journal article (current impact in the research literature of this article).  It also permits the comparison of reference lists to find articles that share common sources.

What does UNC Libraries have available?

On the Search All tab, click on Databases A to Z to locate the three citation indexes are now available on Web of Science, Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanitites Citation Index.  Click on the Web of Science tab.  All three indexes will be searched by default unless one or more specific indexes are unchecked in the Current Limits area.  Unlimited number of users.

Librarian

Profile Image
Bette Rathe
Contact Info
Michener Library
Main floor office 108
University of Northern Colorado
Greeley CO 80639
Phone: (970) 351-1531
Send Email
Subjects:
Education
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip