Need Help?
Wendy Highby
Africana Studies Reference Librarian
970-351-1530
Sarah Naper
Journalism Reference Librarian
970-351-1533
Michener Library Reference Desk
970-351-2562
Walker's Appeal
David Walker’s seminal pamphlet of 1829, “Walker's Appeal, in Four Articles,” is available online at the University of North Carolina; also available in print at Michener Stacks E446 .W177 1984, E446 .W178, and E446.W2 A6 1965
Online May Collection
Cornell University’s Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection contains freely-accessible, online anti-slavery pamphlets. See also the links to additional online anti-slavery resources.
Online African American Reference Sources
Try the following Gale Virtual Reference Library links for these online titles:
African American Almanac
African-American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience
Encyclopedia of African American Society
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Encyclopedia of Black Studies Minorities: Race and Ethnicity in America
Special Collections on Microfiche
Michener Library owns two special collections of documents on microfiche which contain a few key historic publications authored by African-Americans:
Early American Imprints (first series, Evans collection)
[see the index at Michener Reference Z1215 .S495]
Library of American Civilization
[see the index at fiche location 2nd floor]
Here are a few examples:
“A narrative of the proceedings of the black people during the late awful calamity in Philadelphia, in the year 1793; and a refutation of some censures, thrown upon them in some late publications,” by Absalom Jones and Richard Allen
Library of American Civilization; LAC 40128--Michener Fiche 2nd floor
“An oration on the abolition of the slave trade: delivered in the African church, in the city of New York, January 1, 1808,” by Peter Williams
Library of American Civilization ; LAC 40132. Michener Fiche 2nd floor
“An address on the abolition of the slave-trade: delivered before the different African Benevolent Societies on the 1st of January, 1816,” by Russell Parrott
Library of American Civilization ; LAC 40152. Michener Fiche 2nd floor
“A charge delivered to the brethren of the African Lodge on the 25th of June, 1792; At the hall of Brother William Smith, in Charlestown,” by Prince Hall
Early American imprints. First series ; no. 24374, Michener Fiche 2nd floor; &
“A charge, delivered to the African Lodge, June 24, 1797, at Menotomy,” by Prince Hall
Early American imprints. First series ; no. 32218, Michener Fiche 2nd floor
Antislavery Collection
Michener Library owns a special collection of documents on microfiche which contain antislavery pamphlets and other publications. It is entitled, “Anti-slavery propaganda in the Oberlin College Library.” See the paper index filed with the Lost Cause Press Microfiche Collection on the second floor. To access an online catalog version of the index, use the Oberlin College Library catalog; you may do a title search on the series title “Pamphlets on Slavery,” and then cross-reference with the print index. See the Oberlin College Library web site for a more detailed description of the collection.
African American Studies Center
Choose from over 8,000 online entries in Oxford University Press' authoritative reference works, as well as primary source documents, images, maps, timelines, and chart and tables.
Periodical Formats
Because this topic requires historical research, you need to become familiar with the various formats of periodical publications. Physical periodicals (newspapers, journals, and magazines in paper or microform format) are located on the second floor of Michener Library in cabinets (“Michnr Micro”) or on shelves (“Michnr Per”). Search first using the periodical title search in the Source Library Catalog. If not located, retry using a simple title search. Virtual periodicals are on the internet and are accessed using the library’s catalog links as a portal. Search for the links using the periodical title search (or can link to subscription full text from most indexes). Periodical formats: Paper (could be bound or unbound) Microform (includes microfiche or microfilm) Microfiche (aka “fiche”) Microfilm (aka “film”) Online (aka electronic, digitized)
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait