Admin Sign In 

Business: Business Communication  Tags: business communication ba_205  

Online and print resources for business communication students
Last update: May 22nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.unco.edu/buscom  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Need help?

You may get help from the Michener Library Reference Desk (970)351-2562.  You may also use instant messaging to ask a question.  Find information at Ask a Librarian

.

 

Finding articles

Use these resources as first stops for finding information such as company profiles, industry overviews, financial statements, and articles about companies. Also use these resources to find demographic and psychographic trends.  Access databases from the Libraries' Article Finder webpage at http://library.unco.edu/articlefinder.htm.

  • ABI/INFORM (ProQuest)provides access to articles from nearly 3,000 worldwide business periodicals and more than 60,000 company profiles.
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) - large multi-disciplinary academic databases providing access to magazines and peer-reviewed journal articles. PDF backfiles are available for some journal titles.
  • Business Source Premier (EbscoHost) - in addition to traditional articles from more than 2300 periodicals, find  industry profiles, market research reports, and country overviews.  Many company profiles include SWOT analysis.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost) - indexes journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies.
  • Global Market Information Database (GMID) (Euromonitor) - offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, full-text market reports, insightful comment from expert industry and country analysts as well as thousands of sources of further information. 205 countries are researched, with extended coverage of 52.
  • LexisNexis Academic - the Business section of this database provides some often forgotten treasures.  Company searches retrieve information from a broad range of sources including some Hoover’s reports and Standard and Poor’s resources. 
  • LexisNexis Statistical - access statistics produced by federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental organizations.
  • ProQuest Business Databases - includes several business-related databases such as ABI/INFORM Global, Accounting & Tax Newspapers, Accounting & Tax Periodicals, Banking Information Source, Business Dateline, Career & Technical Education, ProQuest Asian Business & Reference, and ProQuest European Business.
  • ProQuest Research Library (ProQuest) - large multi-disciplinary academic databases providing access to magazines and peer-reviewed journal articles. PDF backfiles are available for some journal titles. 
      
     

    Article Search Tips

    Most library databases are not as effective as Internet search engines.

    However, most databases allow searchers to combine terms using Boolean logic. For example:

    • Microsoft OR Apple retrieves a large number of articles about either Microsoft or Apple
    • Facebook AND My Space retrieves articles that discuss both Facebook and My Space.

    Most databases also allow users to search with phrases.  Most commonly, phrases are enclosed in quotation marks.  For example:

    • "University of Northern Colorado" retrieves articles with those words in that order

    Many databases also allow researchers to use some type of symbol for truncation.  However, this symbol varies between databases.  Check a databases HELP section for specifics.  For example:

    • network* would retrieve network, networks, networking, and networked in databases where * was the truncation symbol.

     

     

    Subject Guide

    Profile ImageMichener Reference


    Contact Info:
    Reference Desk- Michener first floor west
    (970) 351-2562
    When classes are in session during fall and spring semesters, the Reference Desk is staffed: Monday-Thursday, 9:00 am-9:00 pm Friday, 9:00 am-5:00 pm Saturday, 1:00 pm-5:00 pm
    Send Email

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait