Search journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC documents, and other online resources using Summon on the Libraries homepage.
Results are listed by relevance so make use of Publication Date limiter, along with Content type and Subject limiters to reduce number of results. Note the 'Cited by' feature for journal articles included in Web of Science Social Sciences Citation Index to lead you to more recent articles.
On the Books & More tab, enter the topic of your search. In the left column of the results page, limit Format to EBook.
To locate the first two resources, from the Summon tab, click on Databases A to Z:
On the Summon tab, click on Databases by Subject to locate Resource Types: Dissertations and Theses
On the Summon tab, click on Databases by Subject to locate Resource types: Tests for more resources.
To locate examples of classroom teaching and other educational documentaries, take a look at the streaming video options in Education in Video and Classroom Management Plus. RTI and DI: The Dynamic Duo is available from Films on Demand. Sproutflix offers free streaming video with developmentally disabled as main actors.
On the Books & More tab, search the library catalog for video content by entering your topic and limiting the format to:
DVD Recording - DVDs located on 2nd floor of Michener Library
Other video - VHS videocasettes located on 2nd floor of Michener Library
Streaming media - online streaming video
For accessible children's video, see Accessible Television Portal
Use the Books & More tab to search UNC Libraries' catalog or select another library's catalog, including Prospector.
The following books are located in the Reference collection on the main floor of Michener Library:
Encyclopedia of Special Education – LC 4007.E53 2014 v. 1-4 (also available online in Gale Virtual Reference)
Educator's Diagnostic Manual of Disabilities and Disorders - LC 4019 .P524 2007
Dictionary of Developmental Disabilities Terminology - RJ 135 .A26 2011
Encyclopedia of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorders - RJ 506.H9 K447 2009
Special Educator’s Comprehensive Guide to 301 Diagnostic Tests - LC 4019 .P53 2006
Measures for Children with Developmental Disabilities - RM 930.8 .M43 2012
The following areas contain books related to special education:
HV 1568.5 - HV 1569.3 Transition to work
HV 1573 - HV 2093 Blind
HV 2350 - HV 2888 Deaf / Hearing Impaired
LC 1200 - LC 1203 Inclusive education
LC 3950 - LC 3989 Exceptional children and youth
LC 3991- LC 3998 Gifted children and youth
LC 4205 - LC 4238 Children and youth with physical disabilities
LC 4580 - LC 4636 Children and youth with brain damage /developmental disabilities
LC 4704 - LC 4719 Learning disabled, dyslexic, hyperactive, attention deficit disordered, and autistic children and youth
P 117 Sign language
RC 553.A88 Autism / Asperger's Syndrome
RC 570 - RC 571 Down Syndrome
RE 91 Visual Impairment / Blindness
RF 305 Cochlear Implants
RJ 506.A9 Autism / Asperger's Syndrome
RJ 506.D47 Developmental Disabilities
RJ 506.D78 Down Syndrome
RJ 506.H9 Hyperactivity, ADHD
RJ 506.L4 Learning Disabilities
A publication addresses Common Core State Standards Application to Students with Disabilities. The PARCC Accessibility Features and Accomodations Manual is in its second edition.
Check out these sites for research and the application of research to professional practice.
On the Summon tab, click on Databases by Subject to locate Resource Types: Statistics for more links.