Reference Sources
The following sources are located in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Michener Library.
- A Handbook of Criminal Law Terms
Call Number: KF9217 .H36 2000 - Dictionary of Crime Terms
Call Number: HV6017 .S54 2003 - The Encyclopedia of American Crime
Call Number: HV6789 .S54 2001 - Encyclopedia of Murder & Violent Crime
Call Number: HV6515 .E5323 2003 - Encyclopedia of White-Collar Crime
Call Number: HV6768 .E65 2007
Web Sources
Defining Your Crime
To find the legal definition of your crime you will consult the following sources:
- Colorado Revised Statutes (2007)
Located in the Michener Reference Collection (KFC1830 .C65).
Use the index to find your crime. The volume of the statutes with the legal definition will be listed in the index. - United States Code (2000)
Located in the Michener Reference Collection (K44 .C4)
Use the index to find your crime. The volume of the code with the legal definition will be listed in the index. - US Code Online
- Colorado Revised Statutes Online
- Uniform Crime Report (UCR)
Offender Characteristics
There are multiple ways to find information about offender characteristics. You can use the Source Online Catalog and the library databases.
- General Sources on Criminal Behavior
This will open a list of 39 sources related to criminal behavior. Use the index of the sources to find your specific crime. - Subject Search for CRIMINAL BEHAVIOR
This will open an expanded subject list for CRIMINAL BEHAVIOR from the Source Online Catalog. - Criminal Justice Abstracts
Use the databases to find information about offender characteristics. Example search: homicide AND offender AND characteristics
Criminological Theories
To find applicable criminological theories for your research you should consult the original writings of the theorists. You can use the Source Online Catalog and the library databases to find this information.
- Author Search
Use the Author Search in the Source Online Catalog to find books written by the theorists. For example, an Author Search for Robert Agnew (Agnew, Robert) will return material written by Agnew. - Keyword Search
You can use the Keyword Search to find information about a specific theory. For example, a search for "general strain theory" will return material related to the General Strain Theory. This will return works by the major theorists and works of others. - Criminal Justice Abstracts
Using the databases you can conduct an Author Search to find articles written by major theorists. You can also search by keyword for a specific theory. - Sage
Crime Information
You can use the Source Online Catalog and the library databases to find information about your crime.
- Subject Headings for specific crimes
This will open a list of specific crimes. You can use the links to find more information about each crime. - Subject Search for CRIME
This will open an expanded subject search for CRIME. Note the 15 related subjects, which will open a list of specific crimes. You can also use the list to find information relating to a specific state or country. - Subject Search
Use the Subject Search in the Source Online Catalog to find information on your specific crime. Type your crime into the subject search and you will get an expanded subject list. - Criminal Justice Abstracts
Use the databases to find information on your crime. Type your crime into the search bar to find articles. You can also limit by state.
Example Search: Homicide and Colorado - Sage Journals Online
- Lexis Nexis Academic News, business, legal, and reference information. Full-text newspapers include the Denver Post, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Times (London), Financial Times (London), and many others.
Statistics
You can use the following resources to find statistics and crime rate information. This is not an exhaustive list. Visit the Statistics section of the guide for more statistics resources.
- Uniform Crime Reports
A primary source for official data on national, state, metropolitan and city level crime statistics. - City Crime Rankings: Crime in Metropolitan America (2006)
Located in the Michener Reference Collection (HV6787.C57 2006) - Crime State Rankings 2007: Crime in the 50 United States
Located in the Michener Reference Collection (HV6787.C77 2007). - FedStats - Crime
Includes statistics from the Bureau of Justice Statistics, Bureau of Prisons, the D.E.A., F.B.I., and the Office of Immigration Studies. - 2008 Statistical Abstract of the United States
A collection of U.S. statistics on social and economic conditions.
Theories of Crime Research
This page will help you start research for your Theories of Crime Research Paper. Be sure to consult other sections of the library guide for additional resources.
Citing Sources
- Michener Library APA Guide
- Noodlebib
Create your APA reference list.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait