Capital PunishmentCorrectionsCourtsFederal AgenciesGovernment SourcesJuvenile JusticeLaw EnforcementLaw/LegalNewsOrganizationsPublished Reports StatisticsVictimology
Open Access Journals
CRJ 240 Perrill - Correctional SystemsCRJ 250 West-Smith - Victim StudiesCRJ 360 Perrill - Theories of CrimeCRJ 370 Fitzpatrick - Justice Professionalism & EthicsCRJ 380 Fitzpatrick - Research & StatisticsCRJ 380 Randa - Research & StatisticsCRJ 380 West-Smith - Research & StatisticsCRJ 395 Fitzpatrick - Problem Oriented PolicingCRJ 410 Fitzpatrick - Comparative Justice SystemsCRJ 410 Reichel - Comparative Justice Systems
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Criminal Justice  Tags: criminal justice crj corrections prisons  

Resources for Finding Information on Criminal Justice
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.unco.edu/crj  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Tutorials             Print Page
  

Boolean Operators

Boolean Operators are the 3 little words neccessary to effectivley search in any of the UNC databases. 

Unlike Google, you cannot simply ask the database a question.  To communication with the database, you must use your main keywords connected with Boolean Operators. 

The Boolean Operators are AND, OR, NOT.  The tutorial below will explain!  The tutorial for Academic Search Premier will show you how the operators are used.

 

Database Tutorials

  • Criminal Justice Abstracts  
    Overview of searching Criminal Justice Abstracts. CJ Abstracts searches only Criminal Justice literature.
  • Sage Journals  
    Sage is an all full-text all scholarly database! It searches many CJ journals and also includes related fields such as Sociology, Psychology, and Politics.

Source Online Catalog Tutorials

  • Title & Author Searching  
      
    This tutorial will take you through the steps of conducting a title and author search in the Source Online Catalog.
  • Keyword Searching  
      
    This tutorial will take you through the steps of conducting a keyword search in the Source Online Catalog. Included is a discussion of the various limiters you can use to manipulate your search.
  • Subject Searching  
      
    This will take you through the steps of conducting a Subject Search in the Source Online Catalog. Subject Searching is great for precision in your results and to help focus your topic.
 

Journal Title Search

You can use the Journal Title Search feature in the Source to find a particular journal.  This is very helpful if you have a citation and you need to find that article. 

Below is the tutorial for Journal Title Searching and the link to the Journal Title Search page in the Source.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait