Criminal Justice Statistics
There are three primary methods used to measure and collect statistics on the nature and extent of crime. Each has its benefits and limitations:
- Official data derive from crimes known to have occurred that are recorded by law enforcement agencies. The FBI’s Uniform Crime Reports is the most comprehensive source for this type of data in the U.S.
- Victim data derive from surveys which ask people about their experiences with crime. This type of data is useful for understanding unreported crimes that do not appear in official data sources. The BJS National Crime Victimization Survey is the most important source for data of this type in the U.S.
- Self-Report data attempt to assess the true extent of various crime patterns by measuring such things as a person’s attitudes, values, personal characteristics or behaviors. The Monitoring the Future Survey is an example of data that is gathered to understand drug use among juveniles.
- The Nation's Two Crime Measures Explanation and Comparison of the UCR and NCVS-
- UCR F.A.Q.
- UCR Handbook Outlines the classification and scoring guidelines that law enforcement agencies use to report crimes to the UCR Program. Contains offense and arrest reporting forms and an explanation of how to complete them. Also provides definitions of UCR offenses.
General Statistical Sources
- Colorado Office of Research and Statistics
The ORS collects and disseminates information regarding criminal justice interventions, analyzes criminal justice policy, activities and problems, and conducts criminal justice program evaluations. - Statistical Abstract of the United States
A collection of U.S. statistics on social and economic conditions. In recent editions, "Section 5. Law Enforcement, Courts, and Prison." contains data on crime, victims, arrests, and convictions. - Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Provides data from over 100 sources about various aspects of Criminal Justice in the United States. - County & City Data Book 2007
Provides statistics for occurrences of violent and property crims at the state, county and city (over 25,000 population) level. - Lexis Nexis Statistical
Access to statistical tables and abstracts of documents from international, federal and state government agencies. - UCR State Crime Statistics 1960-2007
- Crime and Justice Atlas 2000 Prepared to promote discussion of some of the central
questions and issues facing practitioners and policymakers in the field of criminal justice. Includes crime rate trends, sentencing & corrections practices; national crime data; state comparisons. - Crime and Justice Atlas 2001 Update
- Justice Research and Statistics Association
- Racial Profiling Date Collection
Federal Statistical Sources
- Fed Stats - Crime

Includes statistics from the Bureau of Justice Statistics, Bureau of Prisons, the D.E.A., F.B.I., and the Office of Immigration Studies - F.B.I. Uniform Crime Reports

A primary source for official data on national, state, metropolitan and city level crime statistics - Criminal Victimization - Bureau of Justice Statistics
Includes various reports on data derived from the annual National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS). - Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics

The USSC is tasked with providing data for federal judges to consult during sentencing in order to help ensure consistent and fair sentencing ranges. This report includes data on federal sentences and appeals. Includes data by district. - National Archive of Criminal Justice Data

Raw data is available for download from many U.S. and international agencies in pdf, SAS and other data formats. The online Data Analysis System (DAS) provides a mechanism for analyzing data from multiple sources. - Bureau of Justice Statistics Publication Catalog Provides an alphabetical, annotated list of titles plus links
- Campus Law Enforcement Statistics
- Characteristics of Crime Provides summary statistics, as well as links to a number of reports on types of crime, victim/offender relationship, weapon use, place of occurrence, cost of crime etc.
- Compendium of Justice Satistics (2004) Describes all aspects of processing in the Federal justice system, including numbers of persons prosecuted, convicted, incarcerated, sentenced to probation, released pretrial, and under parole or other supervision. Back to 1993 electronically.
- Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics (2007) Contains descriptive statistics on the application of the federal sentencing guidelines and provides selected district, circuit, and national sentencing data.
- Homicide Trends in the United STates Contains a series of charts that describe homicide patterns and trends in the United States since 1976.
International Statistical Sources
- International Justice Statistics from the Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides links to international statistical sources from the BJS, United Nations, many individual countries, and datasets from the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data. - United Nations Office on Drugs & Crime
The United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) is a global leader in the fight against illicit drugs and international crime. UNODC is mandated to assist Member States in their struggle against illicit drugs, crime and terrorism. - United Nations Survey on Crime Trends and the Operations of Criminal Justice Systems
Data on the incidence of reported crime and the operation of criminal justice systems for all member states of the United Nations. Data collected through 2006. - United Nations Interregional Crime & Justice Research Institute
A United Nations entity mandated to assist intergovernmental, governmental and nongovernmental organizations in their efforts to formulate and implement improved policies in the field of crime prevention and justice administration. - International Crime Victimization Survey

The most far-reaching program of standardized sample surveys to look at people’s experiences with crime, policing, prevention, and feelings of insecurity across multiple of nations - World Prison Population LIst (7th Edition)
- UN Global Report on Crime and Justice
- European Sourcebook of Crime and Criminal Justice (2006 data)
Specialized Statistics
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait