Tests
- Various Test Sources List of sources accessible through the library website.
- Guide to Finding Tests Online Guide!!
Find More Articles
(search results open in a new window)
Order from another library!
- Inter-Library Loan Request Form Use for articles and books you can't get through Prospector.
- Prospector If we don't have it at Michener, or it is checked out, use Prospector to order from another regional library!
Getting Started - Books
To get started you will first want to get a better understanding of your topic. Use the Source Online Catalog to find Reference Sources. Reference Sources will tell you the Who, What, When, Where, Why, & How surrounding your topic.
Books will be the older material in your literature review. You will use the Source Online Catalog to search for books and government documents. Remember that the Subject Search will add precision to your searching!
- Source Online Catalog - Keyword Search
Use to find reference sources, books, and government documents - Source Online Catalog Subject Search
Use to add precision to your searching. Results will appear in alphabetical order. - Gale Virtual Reference Library Select the link for Gale Virtual Reference Library to enter the database.
Articles
The databases listed below are suggested starting places. Visit the Article Finder page of the library website, and search by subject to find other relevant databases. Your subjects would include Criminal Justice, Psychology, and possibly Sociology.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts
1968-present. Indexes books, articles, government and nongovernment agency reports in criminology and related disciplines. Find more precise Subjects (Descriptors) on the right side of the result screen. Use those to refine and focus. - Sage Journals
- Academic Search Premier
Great place to start searching for articles! - PsychInfo
1872-present. Covers both journal and book literature in psychology. Select "Suggest Subject Terms" for more precision in your searching."
Statistics
This is NOT an exhaustive list.
- Criminal Victimization - Bureau of Justice Statistics Includes various reports on data derived from the annual National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS).
- Bureau of Justice Statistics This will take you to the "Firearms & Crime Statistics" page. Data is up to 2005. Also use the related sites link to find more statistics.
- 2008 Statistical Abstract of the United States A collection of U.S. statistics on social and economic conditions. In recent editions, "Section 5. Law Enforcement, Courts, and Prison." contains data on crime, victims, arrests, and convictions.
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
- National Crime Victimization Statistical Overviews (PDF 863 kb)
- F.B.I. Uniform Crime Report
Literature Review Tool
Use Social Science Citation Index to see if your articles are cited elsewhere. You can also see a list of cited references to articles from a basic word search. This is very useful for the literature review.
Citing Sources
- Michener Library APA Guide
- Noodlebib
Create your APA reference list.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait