THEA 220 -- Costume Design
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Theatre and Dance  Tags: acting costumes dance plays theatre  

Library resources for theatre and dance
Last update: Aug 26th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.unco.edu/theatre  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Plays & Monologues             Print Page
  
 

Monologues

Most of our books of monologues have call numbers beginning with PN 2080 and are shelved on the 3rd floor. If you don't have a specific type of monologue in mind, you might want to browse the shelves to see what's available.

Not every book of monologues is in that area though, so you can perform a keyword search in our catalog for monologues to see a more complete list.

This search will yield over 400 results, so if you are looking for a particular type of monologue, try combining the word monologues with a descriptive keyword, such as:

~ monologues and men
~ monologues and women
~ monologues and shakespeare
~ monologues and classical
~ monologues and contemporary

Related Online Resources

  • North American Theatre Online  
      
    North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes details about more than 30,000 plays.
  • Theatre in Video  
      
    Definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with film documentaries, online in hundreds of hours of streaming video. Includes the BBC Shakespeare Collection.
 
 

Plays

Finding Individual Plays

Most of the plays in Michener Library are shelved on the 3rd floor in the P (literature) call numbers. They are arranged by the nationality and name of the playwright, and are shelved alongside literary criticism, biography, and fiction. This means that the plays by a particular playwright are found side-by-side with the books about the playwright and books of criticism about his or her works.

Because there is no one section containing all of the plays shelved together, and because we have a large collection of plays, finding one by browsing is difficult. Instead, it's best to use The Source catalog to find a specific play or playwright. They are listed by title, author, and subject (drama).

~ If you are looking for a specific play, enter the title of the play as a Title search in The Source catalog.
~ If you are looking for a play by a specific playwright, enter the person's name (last name first) as an Author search in The Source catalog.


Plays in Collections

Some plays are part of books of collected plays and may not be listed in The Source catalog by their individual titles. In this case, you'll need to search for the title of the collection as a Title search in The Source catalog to see if it is available here.

In some cases, a play may have been published in a magazine or journal; to find these you'll need to perform a Periodical Title search in The Source catalog using the name of the magazine or journal.

There are several tools to help you discover the collection that includes an individual play. Examples include:
~ Drama Scholar's Index to Plays and Filmscripts
~ Drury's Guide to Best Plays
~ Index to One-Act Plays
~ Index to Plays in Periodicals
~ Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections
~ Play Index
~ Plays in periodicals; an index to English language scripts in twentieth century journals

There's also a free web resource, Inter-Play, that serves as an index to several thousand plays found in collections and periodicals.
~ Inter-Play

 

Electronic Resources Librarian

Profile ImageJennifer Leffler
Contact Info:
Michener Library Room 129
University of Northern Colorado
Greeley, Colorado
Tel: 970-351-1543
Send Email

Subjects:
theatre and dance, databases, e-journals

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait