Searching The Source
~ For searching for books in The Source catalog, relevant subject headings include:
Article Indexes
- America: History and Life
Indexes journal articles and other publications covering U.S. and Canadian history. - Historical Abstracts
Indexes journal articles and other publications covering world history, excluding the U.S. and Canada. - Readers' Guide Retrospective
Indexes general interest periodicals published in the U.S. from 1890 to 1982.
Browsing for Books
~ Selected reference books, located in Michener Library's first floor Reference Area, include:
- American Costume, 1915-1970: A Source Book for the Stage Costumer – PN2067 /.03 1982
- Contemporary Fashion – TT505 /.A1 C66 2002
- Historic Costume for the Stage – PN2067 /.B3 1961
- Historical Encyclopedia of Costumes – GT510 /.R3313 1988
- Survey of Historic Costume – GT580 /.T67 1989
- 20,000 Years of Fashion: The History of Costume and Personal Adornment – GT510 /.B6713 1987
~ For browsing in the upstairs stacks, Library of Congress call number areas include:
GT Manners and Customs
GT 500-2370 ~ Costume, Dress, Fashion
NK Decorative Arts
NK 4700-4890 ~ Costume
PN General Literature
PN 2061-2071 ~ Art of Acting
PN 2085-2091 ~ Stage and accessories
TT Handicrafts, Arts and Crafts
TT 490-695 ~ Clothing Manufacture, Dressmaking
Browsing Through Magazines
Magazines with photographs or illustrations are also great places to find examples of period dress. Browse through our collection of older magazines on Michener Library's 2nd floor. Sample titles (arranged on the bound periodical shelves in alphabetical order by title) include:
~ Harper's Bazaar, 1892-1944
~ Life, 1937-1972, 1980-2000
~ Seventeen, 1950-1971
~ Vogue, 1938-present
Electronic Resources Librarian |
Jennifer LefflerMichener Library Room 129
University of Northern Colorado
Greeley, Colorado
Tel: 970-351-1543
Send Email
Subjects:
theatre and dance, databases, e-journals
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait