What are professional journals?
Professional journals or scholarly journals contain articles that are written by experts relating research they have conducted or providing a summary of research on a topic with the intent of improving instructional practice.
Option 1: Journal Title search
Search for a topic within one specific journal by finding the full text provider through a Journal Title search.
Enter one of the following journal titles:
Reading Horizons
Reading Improvement
Reading Teacher
Literacy Research and Instruction
Journal of Educational Research
Elementary School Journal
Educational Researcher
Review of Educational Research
Journal of Special Education
Exceptional Children
Learning Disabilities Research &
Teaching Exceptional Children
Select a full text provider:
Education Full Text - enter topic term(s) in Search within this publication box found in the upper right portion of screen
ProQuest Education Journals - enter topic term(s) in Search for articles within this publication box. Select the desired date range in the box below the search box
Education Research Complete - click on Search within this publication located above the the available issue years. Type "and" after the journal name in the Search box and a topic term, for example: JN "Reading Improvement" and fluency.
SAGE - click on Search for Articles. Enter topic term(s) and change "All Fields" to "Abstract" or "Key words." Limit Date Range to desired years.
JSTOR - enter topic term(s) in Search this Journal box. Click on PDF to save, print or e-mail article. If available, click on Link to Article for full text of articles not yet available in JSTOR.
Topic terms
Consider where you are searching. If you are searching within a reading journal, there is no need to add additional words to topic terms such as "fluency," "decoding," or "comprehension." If you are searching within a source that contains many subject areas that also use these terms, it is important to add "reading" to the search, for example:
"reading fluency" or "decoding and reading"
Option 2: Journal article indexes found on UNC Libraries' Article Finder
Find full text journal articles on a topic from a variety of professional journals or from just one journal.
- Education Full Text
Indexes journals and yearbooks in the field of education with full text available for half the journals - ProQuest Education Journals
Indexes journals in the field of education with full text available for most. - Education Research Complete
Largest education specific database with full text journals.
Searching in journal article indexes
Make sure you are in the Advanced Search screen.
Enter your topic term or terms.
Check box by Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals.
Limit the date range to just those years in which you want your articles to have been written.
Another limit that can be added is to just search within one specific journal:
In Education Full Text change "All-Smart Search" to "Journal Name" and enter a specific journal title. (All journals on the list can be found full text here except for Elementary School Journal and Learning Disabilities Research & Practice.)
In ProQuest Education Journals change "Citation and abstract" to "Publication title" and enter a specific journal title. (All journals on the list can be found here except for Elementary School Journal and Learning Disabilities Research & Practice.)
In Education Research Complete, enter the specific journal title in the Publication box in the "Limit your results" area in the second column. (All journals on the list can be found full text here except for Reading Horizons, Educational Researcher, and Review of Educational Research.)
HTML full text or PDF full text
HTML full text - reformats the text of an article, often losing any pictures or charts unless "with graphics" is indicated; use full text provider's commands to print, save, or e-mail or use browser commands
PDF full text - a scanned image of the article as it appears in the print journal; use the save, print, e-mail commands from the upper border of the PDF document as using browser commands will result in a blank page
Librarian |
Bette RatheMichener Library
Main floor office 108
University of Northern Colorado
Greeley CO 80639
Phone: (970) 351-1531
Send Email
Subjects:
Education
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait