ART 231 -- Painting IART 386 -- Renaissance Art
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Art  Tags: art artists design painting  

Library resources for learning about art and artists
Last update: Aug 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.unco.edu/art  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Books & Videos            Print Page
  
 

Browsing for Books

Most of the art books in Michener Library are located on the 3rd floor, arranged by Library of Congress call number:

N - Fine Arts
NA - Architecture
NB - Sculpture
NC - Drawing, Design
ND - Painting
NE - Print Media
NK - Decorative Arts
NX - Arts in General

TR - Photography

TT - Handicrafts, Arts and Crafts

Searching for Videos

Both Michener Library and the Skinner Music Library have collections of VHS tapes and DVDs that can be checked out or viewed in the Libraries.

To identify video materials, use The Source catalog. You can look up a specific film by title, or limit a WORD search using the Material Type DVD Recording or Other Video (for VHS tapes).

      
     
     

    Searching for Books

    McWeb Software - WYSIWYG HTML Web page editor, Javascript effects and DHTML scripts

    For Books From the UNC Libraries:

    • The Source catalog lists books and other materials in Michener Library and the Skinner Music Library.
      • Start with a WORD search, entering a word or combinations of words that describe your topic.


    For Books From Other Libraries:


    • Prospector is a catalog of many academic, public, and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. With a single search you can identify and borrow materials from the collections and have them delivered to your local library. (more about Prospector).
    • WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries around the world.


    For Online Books:


    • NetLibrary - A collection of over 7,000 online reference, scholarly, and professional books. To take advantage of some features, users must set up an account (at no charge) under the "Create an Account" link.
    • Google Book Search - Search for books to find basic publication data and information about borrowing through a library or purchasing. In addition, you can see sample pages from certain books, and the full text of books that are out of copyright or for which Google has permission from the publisher.

     

    Reference Books

    More background material and quick facts can be found in our reference book collection, located in Michener Library's first floor Reference Area. These books are for use in the Library. A small sample of representative titles includes:

    • Atlas of World Art G1046 / .E1 O9 2004
    • Contemporary Artists N6490 / .C6567 2002
    • Dictionary of Art (the print version of Grove Art Online) – N31 / .D5 1996
    • Dictionary of Artists, Benezit - N40 / .D5213 2006
    • Dictionary of Women Artists N8354 / .D53 1997
    • Encyclopedia of Sculpture NB198 / .E53 2004
    • Illustration Index (indexes photographs published in magazines) – N7525 .I558 
    • Oxford Dictionary of Art   N33 / .O93 1997
    • Who Was Who in American Art, 1564-1975 N6536 / .W56
    • World Painting Index (lists reproductions of paintings in books and catalogs published between 1940 and 1989) – ND45 / .H38
     

    Librarian

    Profile ImageGregory Heald
    Contact Info:
    Head of Instructional Services
    Michener Library Room 147
    University of Northern Colorado
    Greeley CO 80639
    Tel:970-351-1550
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Art, English, Modern Languages, Film Studies

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait