Selected Artists
These are some of the artists listed in your syllabus. The links take you directly to search results in The Source catalog. If the books you need are checked out, if you need more choices, or if your artist isn't listed here, repeat your search in Prospector.
Visual Issues and Artist Selection
Use reference books, located in the Michener Library first floor Reference Area.
- An example of an easy-to-browse set of books with color illustrations is the Biographical Encyclopedia of Artists, N 40 / .B535 2005.
Browse through books in the Michener Library stacks
- Books about painting are in the ND call numbers on the third floor. Don't forget to browse the Oversize area, where some of the larger art book are shelved.
Use online resources available through the Libraries’ web site.
- Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online, an art encyclopedia which, in addition to articles, includes a number of images.
- Browse or search in ARTstor, a large image database. (For help with getting started in ARTstor, see the ARTstor Guide.)
Conceptual or Topical Issues
- The resources listed above can also be used for this part of the assignment.
- Descriptions or lists of pictorial representations of selected subjects or themes can be found in:
- Contemporary Art and Artists: An Index to Reproductions, N 6490 / .P3234 (located in the first floor Reference Area)
- Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art, N 7560 / .E53 1998 (located in the first floor Reference Area)
Further Research
To find further information about the two artists and paintings that you have selected:
- use The Source catalog to find books; note that not all will be found in the ND (painting) call numbers
- use Oxford Art Online to find encyclopedia articles
- use article indexes such as Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective to find journal articles
To find reproductions of the works that you have selected:
- try to find a book about the artist that includes a color image
- try to find a journal article that includes a color image
- find an image from ARTstor
- if all else fails, try to find a good quality, large image from another web resource
For more information, see the resources listed under the Finding Books and Videos, Finding Journals, and Finding Images tabs.
Librarian |
Gregory HealdHead of Instructional Services
Michener Library Room 147
University of Northern Colorado
Greeley CO 80639
Tel:970-351-1550
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, English, Modern Languages, Film Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait