Summon search box
Search journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC documents, and other online resources using Summon on the Libraries homepage, http://library.unco.edu/.
Results are listed by relevance so make use of Publication Date limiter, along with Content type and Subject limiters to reduce number of results. Note the 'Cited by' feature for journal articles included in Web of Science Social Sciences Citation Index to lead you to more recent articles.
Common Core
A publication addresses Common Core State Standards Application to Students with Disabilities. The draft PARCC Accomodations Manual is available for review.
Interlibrary loan
- On Campus Borrowing from Other Libraries - Interlibrary Loan Submit request through the electronic request form.
- Distance/Off-Campus Interlibrary LoanStudents residing more than 50 miles from campus may request that materials be delivered to them. Materials from the UNC Libraries, as well as materials from other libraries obtained via Interlibrary Loan, are provided
Statistical sources
On the Search All tab, click on Databases by Subject to locate Resource Types: Statistics for more links.
- Colorado Special Education Legal Process Statistics Stat sheets on due process hearings from 1996-, on Federal complaints 1996-, legal process cross comparisons 1999- and dispute resolution requests by region.
- IDEA data Contains the annual report tables as reported to Congress, Part B data for children ages 3-21, and Part C data for children ages birth to two.
- Disability StatisticsContains U.S. and state level disability status reports and an interactive search tool using American Community Survey (ACS), Current Population Survey (CPS), and Census 2000.
Searching for books, media, and government publications
Use the Books & More tab to search UNC Libraries' catalog or select another library's catalog, including Prospector. The Classic Catalog 'Advanced Search' permits combing of terms with Boolean operators and limits by location, material type, language, year, and publisher.
- The Source Library Catalog Index to UNC Libraries Michener and Music library holdings; suggested subject headings - special education, early childhood special education, developmental disabilities, autism, mental retardation, Down syndrome, hearing impaired, deaf, blind...
- Prospector Unified catalog of about 40 academic, public, and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming
- WorldCat Catalog of items held in libraries worldwide; found through the Articles & More tab
Searching for dissertations and theses
On the Search All tab, click on Databases by Subject to locate Resource Types: Dissertations and Theses
- Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations Index to restricted and unrestricted electronic theses and dissertations (ETD)
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Full TextIncludes citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997, including those from UNC.
Electronic reference sources:
To locate the first two resources, from the Search All tab, click on Databases A to Z:
- Cabell's Directories: Curriculum & MethodsContains manuscript guidelines for specific journals along with their review practice and acceptance rates.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryCollection of online reference works including Encyclopedia of Disability and Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness.
- 2010 ADA Standards for Accessible DesignThe Department of Justice’s revised regulations for Titles II and III of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA) were published in the Federal Register on September 15, 2010. This publication to bring together the information in one easy-to-access location. It provides the scoping and technical requirements for new construction and alterations resulting from the adoption of revised 2010 Standards in the final rules for Title II (28 CFR part 35) and Title III (28 CFR part 36).
Print reference sources:
The following books are located in the Reference collection on the main floor of Michener Library:
Special Education Dictionary – LC 3957.S64 2003
Encyclopedia of Special Education – LC 4007.E53 2007 v. 1-3
Brief Reference of Student Disabilities - LC 4031 .N53 2008
Educator's Diagnostic Manual of Disabilities and Disorders - LC 4019 .P524 2007
Praeger Handbook of Special Education - LC 3957.P73 2007
Autism Spectrum Disorders - RJ 506.A9 A92377 2007 v. 1-2
Learning Disabilities Sourcebook - LC 4705 .L434 2009
Special Educator’s Comprehensive Guide to 301 Diagnostic
Tests - LC 4019 .P53 2006
Finding books in Michener Stacks
The following areas contain books related to special education:
HV 1568.5 - HV 1569.3 Transition to work
HV 1573 - HV 2093 Blind
HV 2350 - HV 2888 Deaf / Hearing Impaired
LC 1200 - LC 1203 Inclusive education
LC 3950 - LC 3989 Exceptional children and youth
LC 3991- LC 3998 Gifted children and youth
LC 4205 - LC 4238 Children and youth with physical disabilities
LC 4580 - LC 4636 Children and youth with brain damage /developmental disabilities
LC 4704 - LC 4719 Learning disabled, dyslexic, hyperactive, attention deficit disordered, and autistic children and youth
P 117 Sign language
RC 553.A88 Autism / Asperger's Syndrome
RE 91 Visual Impairment / Blindness
RF 305 Cochlear Implants
RJ 506.A9 Autism / Asperger's Syndrome
RJ 506.D47 Developmental Disabilities
RJ 506.D78 Down Syndrome
RJ 506.H9 Hyperactivity, ADHD
RJ 506.L4 Learning Disabilities
Librarian |
Contact Info Michener Library Main floor office 108 University of Northern Colorado Greeley CO 80639 Phone: (970) 351-1531 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Education |
Research Web sites
Check out these sites for research and the application of research to professional practice.
- Autism Data
- CSEFEL: What Works Briefs
- Institute on Community Integration Transition & Career Preparation
- National Association of Special Education Teachers - Publications
- National Center for Special Education Research
- National Center on Response to Intervention
- National Center on Secondary Education and Transition
- National Center on Severe and Sensory Disabilities
- National Council on Education
- National Dissemination Center for Children with Disabilities (NICHCY)
- RTI Action Network
- TeachingLD: Current Practice Alerts
- Tiered Interventions in High Schools: Using Preliminary 'Lessons Learned' to Guide Ongoing Discussion
- What Works Clearinghouse: Early Childhood Education for Children with Disabilities
Sources about Tests
On the Search All tab, click on Databases by Subject to locate Resource types: Tests for more resources.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Produced by the Buros Institute, this resource provides descriptions and reviews of commercially produced tests



Loading...
