Need help?
You may get help from the Michener Library Reference Desk (970)351-2562. You may also use instant messaging to ask a question. Find information at Ask a Librarian
.
How to find business articles
Online business databases provide trade journal articles for specific industries or markets. Access the following databases from the Libraries’ Article Finder (http://library.unco.edu/articlefinder.htm) web page. Only UNC students, faculty, and staff will be able to access these databases off-campus. Recommended databases include:
How to find books
For Books from UNC Libraries:
Hint: Use terms like “business planning” or “small business” as you search library catalogs.
For Books from Other Libraries:
- Prospector is a catalog of many academic, public, and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. With a single search you can identify and borrow materials from these libraries and have them delivered to UNC. (more about Prospector).
- WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries around the world.
For Online Books:
- NetLibrary - allows you to search a collection of over 7,000 online reference, scholarly, and professional books. To take advantage of some features, users must set up an account (at no charge) under the "Create an Account" link.
- Google Book Search - search for books to find basic publication data and information about borrowing through a library or purchasing. In addition, you can see sample pages from certain books, and the full text of books that are out of copyright or for which Google has permission from the publisher.
Other sources for small business information
Use these resources to obtain business plan guidance or to view sample business plans for different industries.
-
BizOffice.com – targets resources for small and home-based businesses.
-
Bplans.com – sample plans, wizards, other resources.
-
Business Owners’ Idea Café – promotes itself as "a fun approach to serious business".
-
Business Plan Guides – topical guides to starting-a-business issues.
-
Business plans handbook : a compilation of actual business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America – Search this 11 volume resource online through the Gale Virtual Reference Library or see print information in Michener Library Reference at HD62.7 .B865.
-
Center for Business Planning – links to wide variety of business plan topics and resources; site includes links to MOOT CORP® competition winners.
-
CCH Business Owner’s Toolkit – provides checklists, sample business forms and documents.
-
Entrepreneur.com – maintained by Entrepreneur Magazine, site includes selected articles and resources for business developers.
-
Inc.com – includes many resources for small businesses. See especially their “How to” section.
-
Wall Street Journal: Small Business News – this Wall Street Journal webpage specifically targets entrepreneurs.
Subject Guide |
Michener ReferenceReference Desk- Michener first floor west
(970) 351-2562
When classes are in session during fall and spring semesters, the Reference Desk is staffed: Monday-Thursday, 9:00 am-9:00 pm Friday, 9:00 am-5:00 pm Saturday, 1:00 pm-5:00 pm
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait