Search tipsSearch resultsFull recordCited Reference SearchResearcher ID and ORCID
This is the "Home" page of the "Web of Science: Social Sciences Citation Index User Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Web of Science: Social Sciences Citation Index User Guide   Tags: arts & humanities, citation index, science, social sciences, web of science  

Last Updated: Feb 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.unco.edu/WoS Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Cited Reference Searching

What is Cited Reference Searching?

Cited reference searching allows you to see who cited a published work. Looking at footnotes, you can follow research backwards in time to see what sources the author(s) used. Cited reference searching allows you to take research forwards by seeing newer articles that cited the article you are using.

 

Citation indexes allow searching of journal articles by author, subject term, and journal title, like other indexes.  The difference is in the ability to search the cited reference list or bibliographies of the journal articles.  This enables a searcher to find the articles cited by journal article author (the historical origin of the article) and the articles that are citing this particular journal article (current impact in the research literature of this article).  It also permits the comparison of reference lists to find articles that share common sources.

Which citation indexes does UNC have?

On the Search All tab, click on Databases A to Z to locate the three citation indexes are now available on Web of Science, Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanitites Citation Index.  Click on the Web of Science link.

 

Once in the database choose either the All Databases option or the Web of Science Core Collection option next to the orange search box on the upper left section of the page. All three indexes will be searched by default  unless one or more specific indexes are unchecked in the More Settings area. 

      
     

    Web of Science tutorial

    Librarian

    Profile Image
    Bette Rathe
    Contact Info
    Michener Library
    Main floor office 108
    University of Northern Colorado
    Greeley CO 80639
    Phone: (970) 351-1531
    Send Email
    Subjects:
    Education
     

    What is the Web of Science Core Collection?

    Search over 55 million records from the top journals, conference proceedings, and books in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities to find the high quality reserach most relevant to your area of interest. You can use linked cited references to explore the subject connections between articles that are established by the expert researchers working in your field.

    Web of Science databases

    Arts & Humanities Citation Index,  Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index are part of the Core Collection and may be search individually or as a group.

    • Web of Science
      (ISI) Web of Science Core collection includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index (2004-present), Science Citation Index (1999-present), and Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present). It offers bibliographic citations and cited references from a broad range of disciplines, and is useful as a citation analysis tool.
    • Arts & Humanities Index
      Index to over 1700 arts and humanities journals along with selected articles from over 250 science and social science journals from 2004-
    • Science Citation Index
      Index to over 8500 journals in 150 scientific and technical disciplines from 1999-
    • Social Sciences Citation Index
      Index to over 3000 journals in 55 social science disciplines and selected items from 3500 leading scientific and technical journals from 1965-
    • Biological Abstracts
      Global journal coverage of every area of the life sciences. For information before 1995, see the printed index Biological Abstracts, located in the Michener Library Reference area.

      Biological Abstracts is NOT part of the core collection in Web of Science but can be searched separately or as part of an all database search.
    • Medline (ISI)
      The U.S. National Library of Medicine's database of medical journal literature.

      Medline (ISI) is NOT part of the core collection in Web of Science but can be searched separately or as part of an all database search.
     

    Web of Science Account

    Why register with the Web of Science?
    • Automatic sign in
    • Access saved searches and search history
    • Create alerts
    • Add references to your EndNote Library
    • Select a preferred starting database or product
    • Update your personal information

    Problems connecting?

    If you are having problems connecting to this resource, please use the link below  to Web of Science and log in with the username and password found on the online username and password list (link below)

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip