This is the "Home/Finding Articles" page of the "Women's Studies Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Women's Studies Guide  

This guide will assist in researching topics in Women's Studies, including exploration of Feminist Theory, Gender, Mothering, and the Family.
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.unco.edu/WomensStudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home/Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Additional online resources

Visit online sources NOT from our library, but assembled by others interested in Women's Studies.  Sites are generally vetted, and links updated occasionally - but often these sites are collaborative, so feel free to pitch in!

 

Noodlebib

Access Noodlebib from the UNC Libraries’ Articles & More page - http://library.unco.edu/articlefinder.htm to help you make your list of sources. 

To create your personal ID the first time, either login while on campus, or use UNC login information that is available from the online user name and password list (click on User Names and Passwords, then enter your URSA log-in and password).

 

Periodical Databases

Women's Studies as an area of scholarship transcends disciplinary boundaries; researchers may well find more useful materials in one of the more general databases or in a database specific to the research question.  For example, legislation on women's health can be found in health-related databases.  Explore a specific area or begin with the resources linked below.

America: History and Life (EBSCOhost; article index)
Covers Canadian and U.S. history indexing from 1964-present.  TIP: Click on "Advanced Search" and use "women" or "feminist" as search terms.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press; digital collections)
Includes 150,000 pages of diaries and letters representing the experiences of 1,325 women from Colonial times to 1950. TIP: Start by clicking on "Browse" or "Search" in the dark blue bar across the top.

Women's Studies International (EBSCOhost; article index)
1972-present. Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies, including the latest scholarship in feminist research. Sources include journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, and important websites.  TIP: Click on "Advanced Search" and narrow search focus by geography (e.g., Asia) or country (e.g., Guatemala).

 

Core Journals

Journals considered to be essential in the area of Women's Studies include the following:

 

Click on the title for access options, both physical (UNC Print and Microforms) and via subscription databases.  Make note of date ranges limiting access.

     

    New Materials in the Libraries Collection

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding

    Librarian

    Profile Image
    Annie Epperson
    Get help from a librarian!
    Contact Info
    116 Michener Library
    CB 48
    University of Northern Colorado
    Greeley, CO 80639-0091
    970-351-1535
    Send Email

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Wendy Highby
     

    Links to online related resources

    The Women's Institute for Freedom of the Press publishes a Directory of Women's Media. It is available in print in the Michener Reference area (Call # HQ1101.I522), and online here.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip