Seminar: American West
SOURCE : the catalog of library holdings which also links to Prospector
Suggested search terms for finding primary resources in the library catalog
Library of Congress Subject Headings
- Diaries
- Correspondence
- Description and Travel
- Personal Narratives
- Sources
Terms that are not LC Subject Headings but may appear in a title
- Memoirs
- Journal
Databases of Primary Literature
Library Subscriptions
Lexis-Nexis Academic - Searchable database of Federal and State Laws and Court Cases. Full text of hundreds of laws reviews. Also contains full-text database of U.S. and foreign newspapers and wire services.
Lexis-Nexis Congressional - Index and full text database on publications of the U.S. Congress (Committee Reports, Hearings, etc.) Indexing goes back to 1970, full-text to about 1988. If your topic is prior to that, use the Congressional Serial Set database.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set - indexing and full text to the U.S. Congressional Serial, 1790 to 1970. Includes committee reports on legislation, reports to congress by executive branch departments, agencies, commissions, bureaus, etc. Also contains a lot of extraneous material.
Public Access
Library of Congress Digital Collections - links to digitized maps, historical newspapers, manuscript collections, congressional publications, etc.
Google Books - full text of books, journals, and other material that can be digized without copyright restrictions.
Internet Archive - full text of books, journals, and other material that can be digized without copyright restrictions.
Indexes to Journal Articles
JSTORE - Backfiles of a number of scholarly journals.
America: History and Life (EBSCOhost)
Covers Canadian and U.S. history indexing from 1964-present.
Readers' Guide Retrospective (WilsonWeb) 1890-1982
Contains indexing of popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada. Note that the content of this product is historical rather than current.
Other Resources
University of Virginia's Historical Census Data Browser http://mapserver.lib.virginia.edu/
User can create maps and do some statistical manipulations with 179- to 1960 U.S. Census Data.
U.S. Census Bureau
Statistical Abstracts of the United States http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/statab.html#Top
Library of Congress Digital Collections http://www.loc.gov/library/libarch-digital.html
The New York Times http://www.nytimes.com/
Subject Guide |
Mark Anderson Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
