Searching the catalog
The Source - the library's public catalog. Suggested LC sub-headings that can be used as keywords to search for primary resources:
-
diaries
- correspondence
- autobiography
- description and travel
- personal narratives
- sources
Terms that are not LC sub-heading, but might be found in titles or descriptive notes
- journals
- memoirs
- writing
- works
Combine with names of historical figures, events, geographic areas, etc.
Comments (0)
Journals, magazine, newspapers
America History and Life - index to journal articles on United States and Canadian history from 1964 - present.
Historical Abstracts - Indexing from 1954 - present for post 1450 history exclusing U.S. and Canada.
JSTOR - full text of all articles from hundreds of history and women's studies journals. mid - 19th century to the presents.
Readers Guide Retrospective - indexes news and other types of popular magazines from 1890-1982.
The New York Times - 1851 - 2008.
America's Historical Newspapers - Early American Newspapers, 1690 - 1876; African-American Newspapers, 1827 - 1998; and Hispanic-American Newspapers, 1808 - 1980.
Full Text Databases
North American Women's Diaries and Letters - includes over 150,000 pages of diaries and letters from over 1300 famous and obscure women covering the late 18 the century the late 20th century.
Women and Social Movements, International - includes diaries and letters of activists, also includes proceedings and official publications of feminist organizations, covering period from early 1800's to present.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set - U.S. government reports. Especially useful for researching background information on laws and legislation. Covers period from about 1800 to 1970.
Proquest Congressional - U.S. government reports. Especially useful for researching background information on laws and legislation. Covers period from about 1970 - present.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info James A. Michener Library University of Northern Colorado 970-351-1474 mark.anderson@unco.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
