Hist 530
HIST 530 - American Democracy Seminar
Suggested search terms for finding primary resources in the library catalog
Library of Congress Subject Headings
- Diaries
- Correspondence
- Description and Travel
- Personal Narratives
- Sources
Terms that are not LC Subject Headings but may appear in a title or description
- Memoirs
- Journal
Indexes to journal articles
-
America: History and Life - index to history journal. A lot of full text.
-
JSTOR - Full text back to vol. 1 of many core history journals.
Historical Congressional documents
-
Annals of Congress (1-18th Cong., 1789-1824) - Gov. Pubs. Lower level and online at The American Memory Project.
-
Register of Debates (18th-25th Cong., 1824-37)- Gov. Pubs. Lower level and online at The American Memory Project.
-
Congressional Globe (23rd-42nd Cong., 1833-73)- Gov. Pubs. Lower level and online at The American Memory Project.
-
Congressional Record (43rd Cong., 1873 to present) - Gov. Pubs. Lower level, 43rd Cong. online at The American Memory Project, 1994 - present at FDSYS.
-
American State Papers (Colonial Period to about 1830) - Gov. Pubs. Lower level and online at The American Memory Project.
-
Lexis-Nexis Academic - Searchable database of Federal and State Laws and Court Cases. Full text of hundreds of laws reviews. Also contains full-text database of U.S. and foreign newspapers and wire services.
-
Lexis-Nexis Congressional - Index and full text database on publications of the U.S. Congress (Committee Reports, Hearings, etc.) Indexing goes back to 1970, full-text to about 1988. If your topic is prior to that, use the Congressional Serial Set database.
-
U.S. Congressional Serial Set - indexing and full text to the U.S. Congressional Serial, 1790 to 1970. Includes committee reports on legislation, reports to congress by executive branch departments, agencies, commissions, bureaus, etc. Also contains a lot of extraneous material.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info James A. Michener Library University of Northern Colorado 970-351-1474 mark.anderson@unco.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
