Resources for the study of Philosophy
Last Updated: Oct 8, 2013
This guide provides a brief overview of the types of material available for Philosophy through the Michener Library.
These specialized reference works provide definitions of concepts and methods. Such works can help you select a topic for research, define and structure your topic, or place your topic in historical perspective. Some of these sources may also include a bibliography listing more books and articles pertinent to your subject.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A project from Stanford University, this encyclopedia is a dynamic reference work with entries maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects.
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A peer-reviewed online encyclopedia providing scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society.
- Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day
- Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
Entries include over 500 biographies of famous and influential philosophers, in-depth analysis of philosophical terms and concepts, a chronology of philosophical events stretching from 10,000 BC to the present day.
A full-text database of small well-respected philosophy journals.
- Humanities International Complete
Indexing and links to full text content for over 1,700 journals in the humanities, as far back as 1929 for some titles. Includes all data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index plus unique full text content.
- Project MUSE
Over 200 full text journal titles covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Vast multidisciplinary e-journal collection. Some articles from as far back as the 17th century. Major source for philosophy articles.
- Philosopher's Index (Print)
A subject index covering "all major philosophy journals in English, French, German, Spanish, and Italian . . . . along with selected journals in other languages and related interdisciplinary publications.
For Books From Other Libraries:
- Prospector is a catalog of many academic, public, and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. With a single search you can identify and borrow materials from the collections and have them delivered to your local library. (more about Prospector).
- WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries around the world.
For Online Books:
- NetLibrary A collection of over 7,000 online reference, scholarly, and professional books. To take advantage of some features, users must set up an account (at no charge) under the "Create an Account" link.
- Google Book Search Search for books to find basic publication data and information about borrowing through a library or purchasing. In addition, you can see sample pages from certain books, and the full text of books that are out of copyright or for which Google has permission from the publisher.
Browse the Book Stacks
Often looking through the shelves can turn up works that would not have been found any other way. Using the Library of Congress subject system, Philosophy is generally shelved in the B call number area with other related fields in BC-BJ. The Library of Congress provides a detailed online list of the subclasses in these areas so you can see how this is organized. Traditional philosophy and related topics can be found primarily in the following call number areas:
B -- General Philosophy, including history
BC--Logic, formal and informal
BD--Metaphysics and epistemology
BF--Philosophy of mind (known as psychology)