Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Audiology & Speech Language Sciences

A guide of library resources for students and faculty of speech language pathology and audiology at the University of Northern Colorado.
Find Journal Articles by Topic
ASLS consists of a variety of sub-disciplines that cross many fields of study - from medicine to science to linguistics to education to psychology to sociology. PubMed is the premier medical literature database in the world, and UpToDate - an at-the-point-of-care evidence-based practice tool - is used in hospitals worldwide. Education Source is the top education literature database, while PsycINFO is the premier psychological literature database. Additional databases are listed below.  To browse all UNC Libraries databases, see Databases A-Z.
 Top 4 Databases for ASLS Topics
PsycINFO
 
PubMed
PubMed now requires users to create seperate account to access resources. For more information, click link.
Education Source
 
UpToDate
Google ScholarAnd, if you’re thinking, “Wait, what about Google Scholar?” I’ll answer you by saying that Google Scholar is a fine tool for what it is. But if you are using Google Scholar to find literature on your topic, you need to take some extra steps. For instance, library databases allow you to limit your results to peer-review journals – or only index peer reviewed journals (e.g.PubMed). Many databases include limits that Google Scholar does not have; to name two really useful limiters: type of article (qualitative, quantitative, systematic review, etc.) and age group (6-12, 13-18, 19-44, etc.). If you do find articles through Google Scholar, use UlrichsWeb to determine if the articles were published in peer reviewed journals.