Search journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC documents, and other online resources using Summon on the Libraries homepage.
Results are listed by relevance so make use of the Publication Date limiter, along with Content type and Subject limiters to reduce number of results. Note the 'Cited by' feature for journal articles included in Web of Science Social Sciences Citation Index to lead you to more recent articles.
From UNC Libraries home page you can also access
English as a second language
Limited English proficient
English language learner
Dual language learner
Second language acquisition
Spanish speaking students
English language – study and teaching – foreign speakers
Do not use abbreviations: EL, ELL, ESL,TESL,TESOL, EFL, ELT, LEP
Use the Books & More tab and enter the topic. In the left column of the results page, select EBook in the Format limit to locate available electronic resources. EBooks found through Prospector are only available if UNC Libraries has paid access for the titles.
Use the Search All tab and Databases by Subject to locate Resource Types: Dissertations and Theses
The following sources can be found in the 1st floor Michener Library Reference Collection:
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education - LC 3707.E523 2008
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics - P 29.E48 2006
Encyclopedia of Language and Education: Second and Foreign Language Education - P 40.8.E53 2008 v. 4
Encyclopedia of Language and Education: Bilingual Education - P 40.8.E53 2008 v. 5
The following sources can be found in Michener Stacks:
Bilingual Education: A Reference Handbook - LC 3731.F45 2002
Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education - LC 3707.E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Language and Education - P 40.8.E53 1997 v. 1-6
Handbook of Bilingualism - P 115.H365 2004
Handbook of Bilingualism: Psycholinguistic Approaches - P 115.4.H36 2005
Handbook of Research in Second Language Teaching & Learning - P 118.2.H359 2005
International Handbook of English Language Teaching - PE 1128.A2 I585 2007 v. 1-2
The following are areas in Michener Stacks to find books on the topics as indicated:
LC 2667-2698 Education of Latin Americans/Hispanic Americans
LC 3701-3740 Bilingual education/education of immigrants and linguistic minorities
P 115 Bilingualism/multilingualism
PE 1128.A2 Teaching English language learners/ESL
PE 1129.S8 English language learning for Spanish speakers
PE 1130 English language learning for other language speakers
A special publication address the Application of Common Core State Standards for English Language Learners.
TESOL Interantional Association provides an Overview of the Common Core State Standards Initiatives for ELLs.
Alternative assessments for English Language Learners: ASSETS and ELPA21.
In addition to the VHS and DVD collections on the second floor of Michener Library, streaming video is available through the database Education in Video. Additional individual titles can be found in a library catalog search on the Books and More tab, limiting the results of your topic search to Format: Streaming Media.
Check the Search All tab and Databases by Subject area for RESOURCE TYPES: Tests for more resources
Try the following research guides for help with related topics