Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Elementary Education

Resources for research in teaching at the elementary level

Summon search box

Search for journal articles, books, dissertations, ERIC documents, and other online resources using the Summon search box on the Libraries homepage

Results are listed by relevance so make use of Publication Date limiter, along with Content type and Subject limiters to reduce number of results.  Note the Cited by feature for journal articles included in Web of Science Social Sciences Citation Index.

Library's home page

From UNC Libraries home page, http://library.unco.edu/, you can also access

  • Services in left column to request items not available through UNC Libraries or Prospector; on-campus students use 'Borrow from other libraries/ILL' while off campus students use 'For Distance/Off Campus students'
  • Journal articles on a particular topic through education indexes on the Summon tab, Databases by Subject
  • Electronic reference sources, dictionaries and encyclopedias, through the Summon tab, Starting Places
  • Links to full text for a specific journal through the Journal Title tab
  • E-book content through the online catalog from the Books & More tab
  • Help using specific resources, through Research Guides, found on Summon and Books & More tabs
  • Electronic reserve material from the Reserves tab
  • Ask a librarian via e-mail, chat or phone through the link in the right column

Help with APA

Browse for education books

Many education books are located on third floor of Michener Library:

HQ 767.8-792.2   Child development
HV 1551-3024      People with disabilities

L - Education (General)
LA - History of Education
LB - Practice of Education
     LB 1139.2-1140.5  Early Childhood/Preschool
     LB 1155-1328     Kindergarten
     LB 1507-1547     Primary grades
     LB 1555-1592     Elementary 
LC - Special Aspects of Education
     LC 3950-4806.5  Special education 

PE 1128.A2             English Language Learners

PN 1008.5-1009.5   Children's Literature

 

Two education specific collections are located on 2nd floor of Michener Library:  Youth Collection and K-12 Teaching Resources

Finding E-books

On the Books & More tab, enter your search term(s). From the results page, refine by Format and select EBook. On the results list, click on the Website link to open the EBook.

   Sample search results for EBooks on teaching at the elementary level

Books only available in print may be requested through Prospector member public libraries in the state of Colorado.  Do a search in the Prospector catalog and then request the desired items be delivered to your public library.  If this is not an option, request books through the Distance/Off Campus service.

 

Online reference sources

On the Search All tab, click Starting Places and "Gale Virtual Reference Library".  Search the encyclopedias included here for background on a given topic, definitions of terms, and an overview of issues.  Included are the following titles:

   Encyclopedia of African American Education

   Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education

   Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education

   Psychology of Classroom Learning

Searching for dissertations and theses

Theses and dissertations are another source of research.

Finding Video

To locate examples of classroom teaching and other educational documentaries, take a look at Education in Video.

On the Books & More tab, search the library catalog for video content by entering your topic and limiting the format to:

       DVD Recording - DVDs located on 2nd floor of Michener Library

       Other video - VHS videocasettes located on 2nd floor of Michener Library

       Streaming media - online streaming video

Statistical Sources

Useful Web Sites

Additional research guides

Additional Research Guides are available for:

   Children's Literature & K-12 Teaching Resources

   English Language Learners

   Special Education