Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nutrition & Dietetics

A guide of library resources for students and faculty of nutrition and dietetics at the University of Northern Colorado.
Find Journal Articles by Topic
ScienceDirect is actually a database from a publisher (Elsevier) that indexes the journals and books from that publisher. So why is it listed here? Because Elsevier publishes many, many nutrition and food science journals useful to nutrition & dietetics students. PubMed is the premier medical literature database in the world. CINAHL is a nursing and allied health literature database. UpToDate is an at-the-point-of-care tool used in hospitals and clinics across the country - it is the best tool for finding quick evidence-based information on conditions, diseases, and drugs. As the fields of nutrition and dietetics are interdisciplinary, additional databases are listed below. To browse all UNC Libraries databases, see Databases A-Z.
Top 4 Databases for Nutrition & Dietetics Topics
ScienceDirect
 
PubMed
PubMed now requires users to create seperate account to access resources. For more information, click link.
CINAHL
 
UpToDate
 
 
 
Google ScholarAnd, if you’re thinking, “Wait, what about Google Scholar?” I’ll answer you by saying that Google Scholar is a fine tool for what it is. But if you are using Google Scholar to find literature on your topic, you need to take some extra steps. For instance, library databases allow you to limit your results to peer-review journals – or only index peer reviewed journals (e.g.PubMed). Many databases include limits that Google Scholar does not have; to name two really useful limiters: type of article (qualitative, quantitative, systematic review, etc.) and age group (6-12, 13-18, 19-44, etc.). If you do find articles through Google Scholar, use UlrichsWeb to determine if the articles were published in peer reviewed journals.