Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sport and Exercise Science

A library guide for Sport & Exercise Science students at the University of Northern Colorado - including those studying athletic training, sport pedagogy, and sports coaching.
Find Journal Articles by Topic
There is no single database that you can search to find all articles on an exercise science topic or on a physical education topic or on a sport coaching topic or on a sport administration topic. So click on the links below to find my recommendations for the top four databases for each area of study. However, as each of the areas of Sport & Exercise Science are interdisciplinary, additional databases are listed below the top four databases. To browse all UNC Libraries databases, see Databases A-Z.
 
Google ScholarAnd, if you’re thinking, “Wait, what about Google Scholar?” I’ll answer you by saying that Google Scholar is a fine tool for what it is. But if you are using Google Scholar to find literature on your topic, you need to take some extra steps. For instance, library databases allow you to limit your results to peer-review journals – or only index peer reviewed journals (e.g., PubMed). Many databases include limits that Google Scholar does not have; to name two really useful limiters: type of article (qualitative, quantitative, systematic review, etc.) and age group (6-12, 13-18, 19-44, etc.). If you do find articles through Google Scholar, use UlrichsWeb to determine if the articles were published in peer reviewed journals.