It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guide created to supplement class presentation on August 26, 2020.
Please feel free to contact me with questions from this class, or any other.
I'll add to this guide if there are questions that come up in class discussion.
Databases that may be of use
ARTstorThis link opens in a new windowARTstor is a digital library of approximately 1 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes.
Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineThis link opens in a new windowThe University of Northern Colorado subscribes to three collections: British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; and Photography: The World Through the Lens.
Oxford Art OnlineThis link opens in a new windowIncludes Grove Art Online (an online encyclopedia of the visual arts with over 45,000 articles and over 130,000 images), Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Berg Fashion LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, online e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
Routledge Encyclopedia of ModernismThis link opens in a new windowWith over 1,000 articles from experts in the field, supported by over 100 images, Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism is a vital tool for students and researchers. The content is fully cross-referenced, allowing for greater discoverability between fields, and covers eight key subject areas: Literature, Architecture, Visual Arts, Music, Dance, Theatre, Film, and Intellectual Currents. Researchers can browse by subject, movement, or place in order to discover connections between key topics and fields.
Collections from Museums and New York Public Library