A-Z Databases

Popular Databases

The most frequently-used databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Homepage for journals published on the JSTOR platform. UNC does not subscribe to all titles.

Popular

PrepStep This link opens in a new window PrepSTEP provides the most comprehensive selection of academic and career-related resources available for students in one platform. Targeted learning centers provide students with easy-to-use, intuitive online navigation for interactive tutorials, practice tests and e-books. This eLearning platform features academic skill building, college placement test preparation, soft skills training, career advancement resources, professional licensing and certification test prep, basic computer skills training and much more.

Popular

To use this resource, you need to create a personal account.

New / Trial Databases

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) makes this database a useful resource for faculty and students alike.

New

Alternate Name(s) AVON

BioOne This link opens in a new window The BioOne Digital Library is a community-based platform that provides global distribution for more than 350 journals and eBooks in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

New

Alternate Name(s) Bio One

Daniels' Orchestral Music This link opens in a new window Access information on more than 17,500 works by more than 2,800 composers

New

IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than 6 million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

New

JoVE Book This link opens in a new window

New

Alternate Name(s) JoVE Video Textbook

JoVE Core This link opens in a new window Video textbooks which explain concepts taught in undergraduate courses through high-impact animations and real-life experiments. Videos are available in the following subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Social Psychology, Molecular Biology, Organic Chemistry, Statistics, Physics, Cell Biology, Nursing, Anatomy and Physiology, and Mechanical Engineering.

New

JoVE Lab Manual This link opens in a new window All-in-one solution for teaching undergraduate lab courses through engaging, comprehensive, and curriculum-focused videos for both instructors and students. Videos are currently available in biology and chemistry.

New

JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new window A video library dedicated to teaching the practice and theory of scientific experiments through engaging and easy-to-understand visual demonstrations. The videos are broken out into eight categories: Basic Biology, Advanced Biology, Chemistry, Clinical Skills, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Physics, and Psychology.

New

Alternate Name(s) Science Education

O'Reilly For Higher Education This link opens in a new window Covering a broad range of topics in business and technology, O’Reilly for Higher Education offers a digital learning platform featuring ebooks, videos, certification prep materials, and exclusive content from industry experts

New

Alternate Name(s) O'Reilly Learning

Users of this database will need to authenticate both on and off campus.

SAGE Campus This link opens in a new window Sage Campus is a digital library product that provides institution-wide access to 280+ hours of online courses for skills and research methods. Sage Campus supports the teaching and learning of skills and research methods through 280+ hours of structured online learning. Our online courses are self-paced and instructor-led, comprising an engaging mix of Sage-quality content, video, interactives, and formative assessments. Access requires each person to sign up for an account.

New