LIB 180 - Historical Research: UNC Libraries - Databases

Entry point for over seventy primary source collections!

The African American Historical Serials Collection is a complete, centralized and accessible resource of formerly fragmentary, widely-dispersed and endangered materials—titles were collected from 75 institutions, including small institutions that had not previously participated in preservation projects. The collection includes more than 170 unique titles related to African American life and culture, and approximately 60,000 pages of searchable primary source content.

Part of America's Historical Newspapers. Includes more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.

America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.

The fifty thematic collections from AAS Historical Periodicals include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.

Brings together primary source content on the social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.

About: The Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection presents historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture. Most documents are in Spanish, while some are in English. All content in indexed and searchable in both languages.

Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history.

Part of the Nineteenth Century Collections Online. To search just this collection, select it on the home page. Featuring a wealth of children’s literature texts from around the world, Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Children’s Literature and Childhood documents the changing construction of childhood, growing popularity of children’s literature, and the legal and sociological context for both.

Digital UNC encompasses an array of unique primary source materials housed within the University Archival Services Department. Materials document the history of the institution, and provide insight into the wider world.

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 17th and 18th centuries.

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the early 19th century.

350,000 fully searchable issues of over 710 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia, focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. Over 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period and features a substantial number of text transcriptions specially created for the product.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is a vast eighteenth-century library at your desktop—a fully text-searchable corpus of books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects printed between 1701 and 1800. It currently contains over 180,000 titles amounting to over 32 million fully-searchable pages.*

Journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

Part of America's Historical Newspapers. Largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. This authoritative database provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. With over 800,000 records and access to the full text of more than 349 journals and more than 120 books, Historical Abstracts with Full Text is unmatched in its scope and breadth of historical and related social science literature.

This resource covers the fascinating subject of feminism over the long nineteenth century (1776–1928). It contains an extensive range of primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, images, and journal articles. Content is arranged into 8 key subject categories, each with their own short subject introductions, to assist research and study, and newly commissioned thematic essays provide an insightful overview and excellent starting point to 16 vital topics within feminism. The resource focuses on the period 1776-1928, however many of the primary source collections included extend beyond this period.

History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples: North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Indigenous Peoples: North America provides a robust, diverse, and appealing search experience and enable intelligent inquiry into the culture and heritage of indigenous people. Indigenous Peoples: North America is sourced from both American and Canadian institutions, as well as direct-from-source from newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations. The collection also features indigenous-language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers.

Homepage for journals published on the JSTOR platform. UNC does not subscribe to all titles.

an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers.

MyHeritage Library Edition is one of the largest, most internationally diverse genealogy databases of its kind. MyHeritage Library Edition provides access to billions of historical documents, millions of historical photos and other resources in thousands of databases that span the past five centuries.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Coverage: 1851 - 2016

Gale's 19th Century U.S. Newspapers -- a full-text searchable, facsimile-image database -- provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. The collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end.

Part of the Nineteenth Century Collections Online. To search just this collection, select it on the home page. Photography: The World Through the Lens assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books, and texts on the early history of photography found in libraries and archives across the globe. It delivers around 2 million photographs from Britain, Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas.

Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and conference proceedings at which pivotal decisions were made and social movements were born, this landmark online collection traces the global history of women's international agendas and illuminates their enormous influence on the course of events and shifts in attitudes that have defined modern life.