Skip to Main Content

Gender Studies: Journal Articles

Research guide for students enrolled in Gender Studies courses at the University of Northern Colorado

Gay & Lesbian Studies Journals

You can find links to our gay and lesbian studies journals here.

Gender Studies Journals

You can find links to our gender studies journals here.

Subject Specific Indexes: Using the Databases A to Z Tab

Gender studies can be challenging to research because many topics span several disciplines.  Here are some suggested starting places:  

America History & Life indexes scholarship regarding U.S. and Canadian history.

Sociological Abstracts would be a good place to search for articles regarding gender and society, race, class, and cross-cultural issues.

Large, multi-disciplinary indexes such as Academic Search Premier and ProQuest Research Library may expand your search results if you are not getting enough results in the above, more specialized indexes.

See the Databases A to Z list or the Databases by Subject list for more suggestions.  And contact me, your subject librarian, if you need some guidance.

Browsing Journals: Using the Journal Title Tab

You may browse journals by title using the "Journal Title" tab or this link.

Core Journals

Interested in knowing more about journals?  You can start by looking at a "core" list.  Experts in the field have evaluated these journals and deemed this listing to be core; the selected titles are covered in three or more women and gender studies indexes, and/or they provide critical information for women and gender studies collection development.

Core List of the Women & Gender Studies Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries