Skip to Main Content

Gender Studies: Web Sites (& Primary Sources)

Research guide for students enrolled in Gender Studies courses at the University of Northern Colorado

Statistics

Woman Stats Project: the most comprehensive compilation of information on the status of women in the world and today includes eleven principal investigators at nine universities in four countries. The Project facilitates understanding the linkage between the situation of women and the security of nation-states. We comb the extant literature and conduct expert interviews to find qualitative and quantitative information on over 360 indicators of women's status in 175 countries.

Recommended Web Sites

Primary Sources (Subscription Databases)

The Women and Social Movements, International database contains full-text primary sources: conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women since 1840. It also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of women’s international social movements.

U.S. Women's History (Includes Primary Sources)

  • Women Working: 1800-1930:  a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University.

 

 

Ancient and Medieval History

Diotima - Women and Gender in the Ancient World: an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean and as a forum for collaboration among instructors who teach courses about women and gender in the ancient world. This site includes course materials, the beginnings of a systematic and searchable bibliography, and links to many on-line resources, including articles, book reviews, databases, and images.

 

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index: covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.