Black Trans Feminism
by
Marquis Bey offers a meditation on blackness and gender nonnormativity in ways that recalibrate traditional understandings of each. Theorizing black trans feminism from the vantages of abolition and gender radicality, Bey articulates blackness as a mutiny against racializing categorizations; transness as a nonpredetermined, wayward, and deregulated movement that works toward gender's destruction; and black feminism as an epistemological method to fracture hegemonic modes of racialized gender.
A Comprehensive Guide to Intersex
by
This comprehensive yet accessible resource provides readers with everything they need to know about intersex—people who are born with any range of sex characteristics that might not fit typical binary notions about male and female bodies. Covering a wide variety of topics in an easy-to-read way, the book explores what intersex is, what it is not, a detailed overview of its 40 or so different variations, historical and social aspects of intersex and medical intervention, along with practical, proven advice on how professionals can help and support intersex people. Written by an intersex man with over 65 years of first-hand experience, this book is an ideal introduction for any medical, health and social care professional or student, as well as family members and friends, seeking to improve their practice and knowledge.
Healthy Chest Binding for Trans and Non-Binary People
by
Binding is a crucial strategy in many transgender and non-binary people's lives for coping with gender dysphoria, yet the vast majority of those who bind report some negative physical symptoms. Written by Frances Reed, a licensed bodywork and massage therapist specialising in gender transition, this comprehensive guide helps you make the healthiest choices from the very start of your binding journey. Including guidance for choosing the right binder, approaching your first bind, an overview of potential health risks and complications, a range of self-massage and self-fascial release exercises to minimize pain and dysphoria, as well as tips and tricks for exercising safely in a binder - this is the ultimate resource for anyone that practices chest binding.
The Trans Guide to Mental Health and Well-Being
by
This empowering self-help guide provides advice and strategies for trans and/or non-binary people on a range of common mental health issues including anxiety, depression, body image, trauma, suicidal thoughts and dissociation. It provides advice on neutralising negative thoughts, coping with transphobia, coming out, dealing with imposter syndrome, and implementing achievable self-care strategies and mindfulness techniques. Whether you are in a crisis or just looking for ways to improve your life, this reassuring guide is there for you to use in the way that helps you the most, regardless of where you are in your transition, or if you decide not to transition in conventional ways. Combining therapeutic expertise alongside first-hand experience, the book also highlights the importance of understanding and being proud of who you are, to help you live life to the fullest.
Transmovimientos: Latinx Queer Migrations, Bodies, and Spaces
by
This anthology features work by and about queer, trans, and gender nonconforming Latinx communities, including immigrants and social dissidents who reflect on and write about diaspora and migratory movements while navigating geographical and embodied spaces in the United States.
Bi: Bisexual, Pansexual, Fluid, and Nonbinary Youth
by
Despite the increasing visibility of LGBTQ people in American culture, our understanding of bisexuality remains superficial, at best. Yet five times as many people identify as bisexual than as gay or lesbian, and as much as 25 percent of the population is estimated to be bisexual. In Bi, noted scholar of youth sexuality, Ritch Savin-Williams, brings bisexuality to center stage at a moment when Gen Z and millennial youth and young adults are increasingly rejecting traditional labels altogether. Drawing on interviews with bisexual youth from a range of racial, ethnic, and social class groups, he reveals to us how bisexuals define their own sexual orientation and experiences—in their own words.
Borderlands = La frontera: The New Mestiza
by
This critical edition of Borderlands/La Frontera, Gloria Anzaldúa's foundational work for Chicanx/Latinx studies, gender and sexuality studies, and border studies, includes a preface by Norma Elia Cantú, a critical introduction by Ricardo F. Vivancos-Pérez, the complete text of the original editon of Borderlands, including extensive critical notes, and a comprehensive bibliography of scholarship on Borderlands and history of reprints. In addition, it contains never-before printed facsimiles of draft versions of the both the prose and poetry sections of Borderlands from The Gloria Evangelina Anzaldúa Papers from the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection at UT Austin and an Afterword about the Anzaldúa Papers from AnaLouise Keating.
Learning While Black and Queer: Understanding the Educational Experiences of Black LGBTQ+ Youth
by
Research-based guidance for educators, teacher educators, and community learning partners to effectively support LGBTQ+ students of color. Learning While Black and Queer, Ed Brockenbrough outlines common obstacles to educational equity for Black youth in the LGBTQ+ community and suggests ways for educators to foster the success of Black queer students. This compassionate and actionable work advances what Brockenbrough calls a queerly responsive pedagogy, which addresses the nuances of LGBTQ+ youths' learning experiences in ways that other assets-based approaches, including culturally responsive and sustaining pedagogies, do not.
Womanist AIDS Activism in the United States: "It's Who We Are"
by
Using womanism, a framework that centers the worldviews of women of color, this book examines the experiences of Black women AIDS activists from across the United States. The authors conducted interviews with activists across the nation to examine the ways in which race, gender, and identity influence their work.
Young, Disabled and LGBT+: Voices, Identities and Intersections
by
Young, Disabled and LGBT+ brings together the work of an international team interested in exploring the intersection of sexuality, gender identity, and disability in the lives of young people and aims to further develop this area as a distinct area of study. This volume features original research and writing into lives that are often misunderstood, marginalised and under-represented in research. It is framed with artwork, poetry and writing from young disabled LGBT+ people, and centralises the voices and lives of young disabled LGBT+ people throughout.
Ace and Aro Journeys: A Guide to Embracing Your Asexual or Aromantic Identity
by
What does it mean to be ace or aro? How should I approach the challenges that come with being ace or aro? How can I best support the ace and aro people in my life? Join the The Ace and Aro Advocacy Project (TAAAP) for a deep dive into the process of discovering and embracing your ace and aro identities. Empower yourself to explore the nuances of your identity, find and develop support networks, explore different kinds of partnership, come out to your communities and find real joy within. Combining a rigorous exploration of identity and sexuality models with hundreds of candid and poignant testimonials—this companion vouches for your personal truth, wherever you lie on the aspec spectrum. You are not invisible! You are among friends.
Ace Voices: What It Means to Be Asexual, Aromantic, Demi or Grey-Ace
by
How do we experience attraction? What does love mean to us? When did you realise you were ace? This is the ace community in their own words. Drawing upon interviews with a wide range of people across the asexual spectrum, Eris Young is here to take you on an empowering, enriching journey through the rich multitudes of asexual life. With chapters spanning everything from dating, relationships and sex, to mental and emotional health, family, community and joy, the inspirational stories and personal experiences within these pages speak to aces living and loving in unique ways. Find support amongst the diverse narratives of aces sex-repulsed and sex-favourable, alongside voices exploring what it means to be black and ace, to be queer and ace, or ace and multi-partnered - and use it as a springboard for your own ace growth. Do you see a story like your own?
Families As They Really Are
by
Drawing on the latest social science research and clinical expertise, Families as They Really Are gets to the heart of what families are, how they work, and why they matter. These original essays by an interdisciplinary community of experts who study and work with families reframes the question about families from "are they breaking down?" to "where are they going, how, and why?" Now encompassing greater diversity in and within family structures, this thoroughly updated Third Edition features expanded coverage of gender, including nonbinary and trans experiences and perspectives; greater representation of families of color and LGBTQ families; and new pieces on the impact of the pandemic on families.
Race, Monogamy, and Other Lies They Told You: Busting Myths about Human Nature
by
There are three major myths of human nature: humans are divided into biological races; humans are naturally aggressive; and men and women are wholly different in behavior, desires, and wiring. Race, Monogamy, and Other Lies They Told You counters these pervasive and pernicious myths about human behavior. Agustín Fuentes tackles misconceptions about what race, aggression, and sex really mean for humans, and incorporates an accessible understanding of culture, genetics, and evolution that requires us to dispose of notions of 'nature or nurture.' Presenting scientific evidence from diverse fields, including anthropology, biology, and psychology, Fuentes devises a myth-busting toolkit to dismantle persistent fallacies about the validity of biological races, the innateness of aggression and violence, and the nature of monogamy, sex, and gender. This revised and expanded edition provides up-to-date references, data, and analyses, and addresses new topics, including the popularity of home DNA testing kits and the rise of 'incel' culture; the resurgence of racist, nativist thinking and the internet's influence in promoting bad science; and a broader understanding of the diversity of sex and gender.
Tortilleras Negotiating Intimacy: Love, Friendship, and Sex in Queer Mexico City
by
Tortilleras Negotiating Intimacy: Love, Friendship, and Sex in Queer Mexico City is the first ethnography in English to focus primarily on women's sexual and intimate cultures in Mexico. The book shows the transformation of intimacy in the lives of three generations of women in queer spaces in contemporary Mexico City, as their sexual citizenship changes, including references to same-sex marriage and anti-discrimination laws. The book shows how these individuals reconfigure relationships through marriage, polyamory, friendship, and sex. Tortilleras Negotiating Intimacy suggests that "new" intimate cartographies are emerging in Mexico City, ultimately redefining relationships, gender, and mexicanidad.
Need help finding something? Stuck on your research project? Want to suggest that we buy something for the Libraries collection or that we add something to this research guide? We got you!
We're excited to hear from you!