Chicago Style

The bibliography appears at the end of your paper and provides the full citations of all of the sources you consulted or cited in your paper. The bibliography entry for each source is made up of several components, including author, title of work, and publication date, and can include publication information such as the publisher, journal or periodical title, and website for digital sources or Digital Object Identifier (DOI) for academic journals.

• The bibliography should begin on a new page at the end of your paper.
• The Bibliography heading should be centered at the top of the page.
• Two blank lines should be between the heading and the first entry.
• Entries should be single spaced, but there should be a double space between entries.
• Entries should have a hanging indent, meaning the first line is flush left while all other lines are indented half an inch. Use the tab key or the hanging indent tool for this rather than five spaces.
• Entries should be alphabetized by the first author's family name.
• The elements of a bibliography entry should be separated by periods. For example, there is a period at the end of the author names.
• Include a bibliography entry for every source you cite in the body of your paper. You may also include in your bibliography sources that you consulted when writing your paper but did not cite.
• Primary and secondary sources may be listed together in one bibliography or separated into separate bibliographies. 
• In academic writing, bibliography entries require the use of full URLs or DOIs for your sources when these are available, such as for academic journals or websites. These URLs and DOIs are not meant to be read but may be printed or used to link directly to your sources.

The name of a single author is written as Family Name, First Name Middle name. 

Carbonell, Bettina Messias. Consequential Museum Spaces: Representing African American History and Culture. Lexington Books, 2023.

For sources with two to six authors, include all the authors' names. Separate their names with commas and the word "and" before the final author. The first author's name is written as Family Name, First Name. All other authors are written as First Name Family Name. 

Napier, Jemina, Rachel McKee, and Della Goswell. Sign Language Interpreting: Theory and Practice. 3rd ed. Federation Press, 2018.

For sources with seven or more authors, list the first three authors' names followed by the abbreviation et al.

Cronin, Matthew A., Benjamin Martell Galvin, Elizabeth George et al. "From a Portfolio of Journals to a System of Knowledge Production." The Academy of Management Review 50, no. 2 (2025): 181-88. https://doi.org/10.5465/amr.2025.0142.

If the author is an organization, list the organization name as the author. 

Major League Baseball. The Major League Baseball Ultimate Book of Records. McClelland & Stewart, 2013.

If there is no named author, start the bibliography entry with the title of the work. Only when a source is explicitly attributed to "Anonymous" should you use "Anonymous" as the author at the start of the bibliography entry.

An Ancient Egyptian Book of the Dead: The Papyrus of Sobekmose. Translated by Paul F. O'Rourke. Thames & Hudson, 2016.

Use the principle "nothing precedes something" when alphabetizing by last name.

Brown, Jayna. Babylon Girls: Black Women Performers and the Shaping of the Modern. Duke University Press, 2008.

Browning, Frank. The Fate of Gender: Nature, Nurture, and the Human Future. Bloomsbury, 2016.

When the first author is the same, single-author entries precede multiple-author entries.

Barenboim, Daniel. Music Quickens Time. Verso Books, 2008.

Barenboim, Daniel, and Edward W. Said. Parallels and Paradoxes: Explorations in Music and Society. Edited by Ara Guzelimian. Pantheon Books, 2002.

Arrange sources by the same author alphabetically by the title of the work.

Anzaldúa, Gloria. Borderlands / La frontera: The New Mestiza. Aunt Lute Books, 1987.

Anzaldúa, Gloria. Light in the Dark / Luz en el oscuro: Rewriting Identity, Spirituality, Reality. Edited by AnaLouise Keating. Duke University Press, 2015.

When there are multiple sources by the same author published in the same year, alphabetize the entries by title and add letters following the date, starting with "a".

Momaday, N. Scott. The Death of Sitting Bear: New and Selected Poems. Harper, 2020a.

Momaday, N. Scott. Earth Keeper: Reflections on the American Land. Harper, 2020b.