Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Africana Studies

This guide provides research tips for Africana Studies students at University of Northern Colorado.

Browsing Journals

Use the Journal Titles search to browse alphabetically, or if you know the exact name of the journal you are seeking. 

To browse for African American Studies journals, also use the Journal Titles search.  From the second drop-down menu, choose “Social Sciences," then the "Ethnic & Race Studies" link.

To browse for African Studies journals, also use the Journal Titles search.  From the second drop-down menu, choose “History & Archaeology," then the  "Regions & Countries—Africa” link.

Using Indexes for a Focused Search

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) provides abstracts (summaries) of articles and links to full text for more than 3,430 scholarly publications covering most academic areas of study, including African and African-American related topics.

For a search within a subset of full-text retrospective articles in African or African American Studies use:  JSTOR -- includes indexing and full text of 13 and 20 journal titles, respectively.  Use the "advanced search" tab and limit "discipline" to "African Studies" or "African American Studies."

Additional, specialized indexes can be found on the Databases A-Z page.  For example, you might want to use America: History & Life for an historical topic, eHRAF Collection of Ethnography for a topic related to African tribal culture, or MLA International Bibliography for an African American literature topic.   Ask a librarian for help with choosing an index.

Using Subject Terms in Academic Search Premier

Use the Subject Terms index link in Academic Search Premier to find the most precise search terms. For example, the subject term African Americans is defined below:

Previous   Browse for: Term Begins WithTerm ContainsRelevancy Ranked   Next
Back to List
Select term, then add to search using: Explode
 AFRICAN Americans
 
    Scope Note Here are entered works on citizens of the United States of black African descent. Works on blacks who temporarily reside in the United States, such as aliens, students from abroad, etc., are entered under -- Blacks--United States. -- Works on blacks outside the United States are entered under -- Blacks--[place].
 
    Broader Terms  AFRICANS -- United States
 
 AMERICANS
 
 BLACKS -- United States
 
 ETHNIC groups
 
 ETHNOLOGY -- United States
 
    Narrower Terms  AFRICAN American Jews
 
 AFRICAN American children

News Articles

Try out this full-text database, when searching for news articles:

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998