Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Africana Studies

This guide provides research tips for Africana Studies students at University of Northern Colorado.

Examples of African Studies reference sources

The following list is just a small sample of print reference sources located on the first floor of Michener Library.  For a complete list, do a subject search for "Africa" and limit the location to "Michnr Ref."

TITLE        African folklore: an encyclopedia
CALL #       GR350 .A33 2004

TITLE        Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience
CALL #       DT14 .A37435 1999

TITLE        Continuum encyclopedia of native art: worldview, symbolism, and culture in Africa, Oceania, and native
CALL #       E98.A7 W49 2000

TITLE        Encyclopedia of Africa south of the Sahara
CALL #       DT351 .E53 1997

TITLE        Encyclopedia of African history
CALL #       DT20 .E53 2005

TITLE        Encyclopedia of African history and culture
CALL #       DT3 .P27 2005

TITLE        Encyclopedia of African peoples
CALL #       DT15 .E53 2000

TITLE        Encyclopedia of precolonial Africa: archaeology, history,languages, cultures, and environments
CALL #       DT2 .E53 1997

TITLE        Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East & North Africa
CALL #       DS43 .E53 2004