Skip to Main Content

Anthropology: Finding Journal Articles

This guide provides research strategies for anthropology students at the University of Northern Colorado.

Browsing Journals

Use the Journal Title search to browse alphabetically, or if you know the exact name of the journal you are seeking.

To browse for anthropology journals, also use the Journal Title search.  From the second drop-down menu, choose “Social Sciences." Anthropology is the first subject group on the list

To browse for archaeology journals, choose, from the second drop-down menu, " History & Archaeology."  Archaeology is the first subject group on the list.

Indexes and Databases

The complex nature of anthropological research—with its sub-disciplines of archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, anthropological linguistics, and biological/physical anthropology—will often require reliance on various indexes and databases. Here are some suggestions:

AnthroSource
Database developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), covering journals in anthropology and including current issues for the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications (including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly). See this link for a complete list of full-text journals in Anthrosource.

eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
Produced by Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University, this cross-cultural database contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life.

Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCOhost)
1983-present. Contains indexing for more than 500 publications covering a wide range of interdisciplinary fields such as addiction studies, anthropology, corrections, economics, gender studies, gerontology, minority studies, political sciences, psychology, sociology. Indexing coverage dates back to 1983, and abstracts date back to 1994

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
1952-present. Covers journal articles, dissertations, books, and book reviews in sociology and related disciplines. Use this index for searches re cultural/social anthropology

Humanities Source (EBSCOhost)
Indexing and links to full text content for over 1,700 journals in the humanities, as far back as 1929 for some titles. Includes all data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index plus unique full text content.  Click on the "publications" link and browse by the subject "archaeology" to see titles indexed in Humanities International Complete.

JSTOR
JSTOR's Arts & Sciences I, II, III, & IV Collections provide complete backfiles of a number of core scholarly journal titles starting with the first issues. Note that there is a gap, usually 1 to 5 years, between the most recent issue and the back issues available in JSTOR. See these links to browse the full-text Anthropology and Archaeology journals in JSTOR

Social Sciences Citation Index - Web of Science (ISI)
1972-present. Offers bibliographic citations and cited references from a broad range of social sciences disciplines. Often used as a citation analysis tool.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
A large academic multi-disciplinary database providing indexing for over 8,000 journals and full text for nearly 4,700 (including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals).

Print Indexes for Retrospective Research

Abstracts in Anthropology, 1970-2003 (3rd floor Michener stacks, GN1 .A15)

Anthropological Index, 1974-1983 (2nd floor Michener bound periodicals)

Anthropological Literature, 1979-2004 (3rd floor Michener stacks, GN1 .A57)