Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History - Primary Resources

Collections of historic books, newpapers and periodicals in Michener Library.

Subscription Online Trsources

Early English Books (EEBO) - books and periodicals 1473-1700. Primary resources for Briitish history which includes colonial America and Canada.

History Reference Center - full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

 

Free Online Resources

Google Books - books with copyright restrictions are reproduced as 'snippets', or excerpts. Books in the public domain are usually reproduced in their entirety. 

Hathi Trust - consists of digitized collections contributed by member libraries, hosted by the University of Michigan.

Internet Archive - digitized books, government documents, audio and video, web sites, and more.

Project Gutenberg - over 45,000 free, public domain, ebooks.

 American Memory Project (Library of Congress) - maps, photgraphs, newspapers, govenrment documents, diaries and correspondence of immigrants, travellers, soldiers, etc. and more.

Digital Public Library of America - online collections of books, images, maps and more.

The Making of America - courtesy of Cornell University. A free, online, fulltext collection of nineteenth century American monographs, magazines and periodicals.

MIchigan Digital Library - primary resources for U.S. and Michigan History.

University of Wisconsin Digital Collections - primary resources for U.S. and Wisconsin History. 

 Denver Public Library Digital Collections - Denver and Colorado History in photographs, maps and documents.

New York Public Library Digital Collections - images, prints, videos, maps, and documents on a wide variety of historical topics.

THe National Archives - 

National Archives Documents Collections 

U.S. Government Printing Office