Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History - Primary Resources

Collections of historic books, newpapers and periodicals in Michener Library.

Primary Sources by Topic

The following links will take you to digitized primary sources or descriptions (finding aids) of archival collections held at the University of Northern Colorado. Unless otherwise noted, a UNC log-in is required to access these resources.

  • Livingstone Online -UNC login not required-: "A digital museum and library that allows users to encounter the written and visual legacies of the famous Victorian explorer David Livingstone (1813-73)." It includes over 15,000 images, 780 transcriptions, and high resolution manuscripts.

  • O.T. Jackson papers (SC057) -UNC login not required-: An archival collection containing correspondence to and from O. T. Jackson, bank statements, loan documents, advertising posters and recruitment materials, maps and information about Dearfield, Colorado.

  • Oxford African American Studies Center: A collection focused on African American and African history and culture, featuring reference works, primary sources, images, maps, timelines, and biographies.

  • Paul Stewart oral histories -UNC login not required-: This collection consists of over 100 cassette tapes that contain interviews Paul W. Stewart conducted with black pioneers.

  • Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (books and journals): A historical archive that embraces the scholarly study of slavery in a comprehensive, conceptual, and global way.

  • Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, & Law: "Brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. Much of the non-legal material in this collection is based on the magnificent holdings of the Buffalo Public Library. Its rare book collection contains hundreds of nineteenth century pamphlets and books on slavery."

  • The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database -UNC login not required-: Has information on 36,000 slaving voyages

  • University of Northern Colorado, Black Women of Today oral histories (RG022-S002) -UNC login not required-: This archival collection consists of a report entitled Black Women of Today Oral History Project: A Class Project Conducted by the Students of AFS 102 "The Black Woman in America." Audio and VHS tapes of six of the oral history interviews conducted as part of the project are also included.

  • University of Northern Colorado, Marcus Garvey Cultural Center records (RG009-S027) -UNC login not required-This archival collection consists of brochures announcing activities at the Marcus Garvey Cultural Center, photo albums, scrapbooks, correspondence, a framed photograph of an African American woman (ca. 1900), and a telegram from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

The following links will take you to digitized primary sources or descriptions (finding aids) of archival collections held at the University of Northern Colorado. Unless otherwise noted, a UNC log-in is required to access these resources.

 

 

 

  • US Hispanic Newsstream: Offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English.

The following links will take you to digitized primary sources or descriptions (finding aids) of archival collections held at the University of Northern Colorado. Unless otherwise noted, a UNC log-in is required to access these resources.

  • British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture: Features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores.

  • Early English Books Online (EEBO): Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online Contains over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) and more than 32 million pages. The largest and most comprehensive online historical archive of its kind and an essential resource for advanced study of the eighteenth century, this collection contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800.

  • History of Feminism It contains an extensive range of primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, images, and journal articles. The resource focuses on the period 1776-1928, however many of the primary source collections included extend beyond this period.

  • MyHeritage: One of the largest, most internationally diverse genealogy databases of its kind. Provides access to billions of historical documents, millions of historical photos and other resources in thousands of databases that span the past five centuries.

  • Livingstone Online -UNC login not required-"A digital museum and library that allows users to encounter the written and visual legacies of the famous Victorian explorer David Livingstone (1813-73)." It includes over 15,000 images, 780 transcriptions, and high resolution manuscripts.

  • Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineIncludes three collections: British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; and Photography: The World Through the Lens.

  • Times Digital Archive, 1785 onwards: Full-text digital archive of the London newspaper.

The following links will take you to digitized primary sources or descriptions (finding aids) of archival collections held at the University of Northern Colorado. Unless otherwise noted, a UNC log-in is required to access these resources.

The following links will take you to digitized primary sources or descriptions (finding aids) of archival collections held at the University of Northern Colorado. Unless otherwise noted, a UNC log-in is required to access these resources.

 

  • Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part IBrings together primary source content on the social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.

  • Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collectionpresents historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture.

  • Early American Newspapers, Series I: 1690-1876350,000 fully searchable issues of over 710 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia, focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries.

  • History of FeminismThis resource covers the fascinating subject of feminism over the long nineteenth century (1776–1928). It contains an extensive range of primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, images, and journal articles.

  • Indigenous Peoples: North AmericaEnabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century.

  • MyHeritage: One of the largest, most internationally diverse genealogy databases of its kind. MyHeritage Library Edition provides access to billions of historical documents, millions of historical photos and other resources in thousands of databases that span the past five centuries.

  • New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Full text of the New York Times, with index coverage from 1985-1993.

  • Newspaper Source Plus: Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

  • Nineteenth Century U.S. NewspapersGale's 19th Century U.S. Newspapers -- a full-text searchable, facsimile-image database -- provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers.

  • Oxford African American Studies CenterA collection focused on African American and African history and culture, featuring reference works, primary sources, images, maps, timelines, and biographies.

  • ProQuest Congressional: Formerly LexisNexis Congressional and Congressional Universe, indexes and provides selected full texts of Congressional publications, regulations, laws, legislative histories, and background information on members of Congress.

  • Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (books and journals)A historical archive that embraces the scholarly study of slavery in a comprehensive, conceptual, and global way.

  • Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, & Law"Brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. Much of the non-legal material in this collection is based on the magnificent holdings of the Buffalo Public Library. Its rare book collection contains hundreds of nineteenth century pamphlets and books on slavery."

  • Statistical Abstract of the United Statesis the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

  • The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database: Has information on 36,000 slaving voyages

  • U.S. Congressional Serial SetReports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.

  • US Hispanic Newsstream: Offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English.

  • Women and Social Movements, InternationalThrough the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and conference proceedings at which pivotal decisions were made and social movements were born, this landmark online collection traces the global history of women's international agendas and illuminates their enormous influence on the course of events and shifts in attitudes that have defined modern life.

The following links will take you to digitized primary sources or descriptions (finding aids) of archival collections held at the University of Northern Colorado. Unless otherwise noted, a UNC log-in is required to access these resources.

  • Chris Petteys papers and artwork -UNC login not required- : The Petteys Papers include the correspondence and research conducted by Chris Petteys about women artists as well as a private collection of artworks by various female artists.
  • History of Feminism:  Contains an extensive range of primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, images, and journal articles. The resource focuses on the period 1776-1928, however many of the primary source collections included extend beyond this period.
  • Women and Social Movements, InternationalThrough the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and conference proceedings at which pivotal decisions were made and social movements were born, this landmark online collection traces the global history of women's international agendas and illuminates their enormous influence on the course of events and shifts in attitudes that have defined modern life.