Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History - Primary Resources

Collections of historic books, newpapers and periodicals in Michener Library.

The University of Northern Colorado Libraries contains thousands of primary sources. These can be found in the Archives and Special Collections, by searching the library catalog, or online in Digital UNC and a variety of databases. Each tab contains more information and instructions.

Primary Sources at UNC

The UNC Archives and Special Collections contains a variety of primary sources documenting the history of the university, James A. Michener, alumni such as Connie Willis, faculty members, and individuals, organizations, and communities in northern Colorado. Archival collections contain a broad range of material such as correspondence, meeting minutes, notebooks, and photographs. Each collection is described in its own finding aid, which is a guide with information about what the collection contains, how large it is, where the material came from, pertinent access restrictions, and much more. The amount of information varies in each finding aid, and more is added regularly. You can search finding aids through a database called ArchivesSpace.


Visiting and conducting research in the archives is easy! Simply stop by Michener L119 during open hoursemail, or call: 970-351-2854. Archives staff are always happy to help find what you need!

For more information about searching archival collections, please see the UNC Archives and Special Collections website.


Search archival collections through ArchivesSpacehttps://uncoarchives.coalliance.org/, or directly in the search box below.

Finding primary sources through the library catalog

  • The Source –  the library’s public catalog. Search for the following keywords to search for primary resources (these are Library of Congress sub-headings for subjects):
    • diaries
    • correspondence
    • autobiography
    • description and travel
    • personal narratives
    • sources
  • Terms that are not LC subheadings, but might be found in titles or descriptive notes are:
    • journals
    • memoirs
    • writings
    • works
  • For keywords, use the names of historical figures, the names of countries, or events.
    • Use the "Genre" filter on the left-hand side of the catalog to see only likely primary sources (diaries, personal narratives, etc.)

The UNC Libraries subscribes to dozens of databases housing or linking to digitized primary source materials.