Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History - Primary Resources

Collections of historic books, newpapers and periodicals in Michener Library.

Web Resources

Digital Public Library of America contains over 29 million images, texts, multimedia, and more sourced from archives, museums, and libraries across North America.

Internet Archive includes digitized books, government documents, audio, video, websites, and more.

Library of Congress American Memory contains curated digitized content by topic. Please note this site is being phased out as content is moved to the LC Digital Collections.

Library of Congress Digital Collections contains millions of primary sources digitized from the Library of Congress's collections.

Smithsonian Open Access contains millions of digital images of 2-D and 3-D items from the Smithsonian's collections.

Other Archival Repositories Digital Collections

‚ÄčArchival repositories around the world have digitized and made available online entire collections, valuable historical documents, photographs, and more. The following institutions represent only a small number of cultural heritage institutions with online materials. 

Calisphere contains digitized materials largely from University of California campus institutions, but also includes other California libraries, archives, and museums.

Cornell Making of America: "Comprised of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction."

Denver Public Library Digital Collections includes primary sources documenting Denver and Colorado history.

Mountain West Digital Library contains digitized materials from institutions in Utah, Oregon, Idaho, and other western states.

NARA DOCSTeach: From the National Archives and Records Administration, contains thousands of primary sources spanning American history.

NYPL Digital Collections includes over 700,000 items from the New York Public Library's collections.

Smithsonian Digital Library contains books, manuscripts, and ephemera from the Smithsonian's vast collections.