Skip to Main Content

Communication, Journalism, & Media Studies

Online and print resources for the School of Communication

Key Resources

Westlaw Campus Research Database

 
Westlaw Campus Research is our go-to database for legal research that replaces Nexis Uni (LexisNexis). It also contains business information, news, and more.
 
For additional legal resources, see Law & Government Databases.

 

How to...

...get started in Westlaw:

...tell if a case, statute, or regulation is still "good law":

 

Free Online Resources

United States Constitution

U.S. Constitution Annotated (CONAN)

This website provides and maintains the full text of the constitution annotated with Supreme Court decisions, the U.S. Code, and more that is available through the Congressional Research Service. Provided by the Legal Information Institute.

Legal Information Institute Logo

The LII Supreme Court Bulletin

A team of Cornell Law students craft these Supreme Court Bulletin Previews, covering every case on the docket. Their goal is to provide you with objective summaries of the issues and arguments pertinent to each case the Supreme Court hears, and to do so in straightforward language.

Ballotpedia

Ballotpedia: SCOTUS Cases

Ballotpedia is the digital encyclopedia of American politics and elections. Provides highlights, background, outcomes and more on historic SCOTUS cases and cases by term.

SCOTUSblog logo

SCOTUSblog

A blog about the Supreme Court of the United States written by lawyers, law professors, and law students. Includes additional tools and resources for following the activities of the Supreme Court.

SCOTUS Seal

The Supreme Court of the United States

The official website of the Supreme Court of the United States.

Legal Terminology Help

Business Law - Entries from the Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law on business
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations - Abbreviations for English language legal publications & more
Nolo’s Plain-English Law Dictionary - Nolo publishes legal information intended for lay people