Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Citation Style Guides & Management Tools
UNC MLA Style Guide
This site contains a wealth of information about using MLA citation style.
A web-based version of EndNote bibliographic management software.
RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources. To use this resource, you need to create an account using a computer on campus. Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org if you need to create an account from off campus.
Core Film Studies Journals
"Provides innovative feminist perspectives on film, television, & visual media."
A publication for film aficionados and general readers that discusses both the art and politics of the cinema.
Publishes essays on a wide variety of subjects from diverse methodological perspectives.
Features articles on narrative, documentary and independent film makers, filmography, film criticism and book reviews.
"Film Quarterly has been publishing substantial, peer-reviewed writing on motion pictures since 1958."
Journal of Film and Video
Articles and reviews in the fields of film and video production, history, theory, criticism, and aesthetics.
A "leading international journal of academic film and television studies."
Sight and Sound
Published by the British Film Institute (BFI). Contains articles on contemporary and classic cinema from Hong Kong to Hollywood.
Velvet Light Trap
"The Velvet Light Trap is a journal devoted to investigating historical questions that illuminate the understanding of film and other media."
A journal that "aims to break down traditional geographical divisions" with a focus on "the global nature of film cultures."
Alphabetical List of Databases
My Library Account
View Your Circulation Record and Renew Checked-Out Items.
A catalog of academic, public, and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. With a single search you can identify and borrow materials from the collections and have them delivered to your local library.
Request other items through Interlibrary Loan
UNC's Film Studies Program
The Film Studies Program at the University of Northern Colorado offers an academic Minor in Film Studies.
Filmographies and Background
New York Times
This historical newspaper provides researchers with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage (1851-2011) of the politics, society and events of the time.
VideoHound's Golden Movie Retriever
One of the better sources of short summaries and review captions because of its extensive cross-indexing and categorization of films by genre. Includes brief information on awards received, release year, and a general rating from the editorial staff.
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
"Written for film students and film buffs alike, this set features thorough coverage of legendary films, actors, actresses, directors, writers, and other production artists through detailed essays and commentary by experts."
Internet Movie Database
Basic movie information. Includes filmographies and credits but full production information, plot summaries and review sources vary in length and quality.
Movie Review Query Engine
Internet database of movie reviews from a variety of sources.
Finding Videos & DVDs
To find videos at UNC the simplest method is to perform a Keyword search using your subject term plus the phrase and videorecording.
If you are searching for films by a particular director or actor, remember to put the name in quotation marks.
Example Keyword Searches for Finding Videos at UNC:
- "lee, ang" and videorecording
- shakespeare and branagh and videorecording
- "civil war" and videorecording
- "streep, meryl" and videorecording
Prospector is also a good source for videos, Denver Public Library's collection is searchable and generally available for Prospector delivery.
WorldCAT allows one to limit the search to videos, either by selecting "Visual Materials" as a format from the Advanced Search screen, or by doing a Basic Search and then selecting the "Visual" tab.
Questions & Help
► Call Us: 970-351-2671