Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gerontology

A guide of library resources for students and faculty in gerontology at the University of Northern Colorado.
Find Journal Articles by Topic
Gerontology is an interdisciplinary field, where literature from the medical sciences, social sciences, and psychology contribute. Web of Science is an interdisciplinary database covering the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. PubMed is the premier medical literature database in the world, PsycINFO is the premier psychological literature database in the world, and Social Sciences Full Text one of the top sociology and social science literature databases. Additional databases are listed below. To browse all UNC Libraries databases, see Databases A-Z.
4 Best Literature Databases for Gerontology
Web of Science
 
PubMed
PubMed now requires users to create seperate account to access resources. For more information, click link.
PsycINFO
 
Social Sciences Full Text
 
 
 
Google ScholarAnd, if you’re thinking, “Wait, what about Google Scholar?” I’ll answer you by saying that Google Scholar is a fine tool for what it is. But if you are using Google Scholar to find literature on your topic, you need to take some extra steps. For instance, library databases allow you to limit your results to peer-review journals – or only index peer reviewed journals (e.g.PubMed). Many databases include limits that Google Scholar does not have; to name two really useful limiters: type of article (qualitative, quantitative, systematic review, etc.) and age group (6-12, 13-18, 19-44, etc.). If you do find articles through Google Scholar, use UlrichsWeb to determine if the articles were published in peer reviewed journals.