Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journal Indexes for History: Home

Indexing for History Journals

 

EBSCOHOST 

EBSCOHOST includes several databases that index history books, articles and primary resources. The most efficient way of searching is to select EBSCOHOST and then "select all" databases. EBSCO databases that include history content include Academic Search Premier, Art Index Retrospective, Book Index with Reviews, Current Biography Illustrated, E-Book Collection, Gender Studies, History Reference Center, Humanities Source, Legal Source, Newspaper Source, and probably others as well. EBSCOHOST also links to e-content of other databases, such as ProQuest, Sage, Web of Science, etc.

Summon 

Advantages 

  • Provides one-stop searching of the content of many but not all our commercial indexes.   
  • Links to full e-text.
  • Links to catalog records for print only titles.
  • Searches can be limited to journals only.
  • Subject searching is available. 

Disadvantages 

  • Not likely to index journals that we don't subscribe to.  

JSTOR

Advantages

  • Indexes hundred's of core history journals
  • Coverages goes back to vol. 1 issue 1 of almost all the journals included
  • Almost all content is available as pdf

Disadvantages

  • No indexing for title not included in the database.
  • All searching is keyword full-text. No controlled vocabulary (subject) searching. 

Google Scholar 

Advantages 

  • Indexes nearly all that exists, whether we have a subscription or not.
  • Links to e-content that we subscribe to 
  • Includes a citation index and "lists of related articles".
  • It's free

Disadvantages 

  • Also indexes books and other materials, so most searches result in a large, confusing mass of indistinguishable urls.
  • No controlled vocabulary, subject searching.